Gianetta Palmer is a writer for CarInsurance101.com, copywriter, and essayist. Her work has appeared in EverydayHealth.com, Healthline, and The Dyrt Magazine. She is the author of Scrunchie-Fried and writes a lot about car insurance in her spare time.

Full Bio →

Written by

Melanie Musson is the fourth generation in her family to work in the insurance industry. She grew up with insurance talk as part of her everyday conversation and has studied to gain an in-depth knowledge of state-specific car insurance laws and dynamics as well as a broad understanding of how insurance fits into every person’s life, from budgets to coverage levels. She also specializes in automa...

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Melanie Musson
Published Insurance Expert

UPDATED: Mar 16, 2020

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident car insurance decisions. Car insurance comparison shopping should be easy. We partner with top car insurance companies. This doesn’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about car insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything car insurance-related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by car insurance experts.

Delaware Statistics SummaryDetails
Miles of Roadway13,954
Number of Registered Vehicles447,007
Population967,171
Most Popular VehicleChevrolet Silverado 1500
Uninsured Driver %11.40%
Driving FatalitiesSpeeding – 33
DUI – 28
Average Annual PremiumsLiability – $776.50
Collision – $296.60
Comprehensive – $113.23
Full – $1,186.33
Cheapest ProvidersUSAA and Geico

Compare RatesStart Now →

People in the First State don’t have to travel very far to get from one end of Delaware to the other. As the second-smallest state, this Mid-Atlantic state encompasses 2,489 square miles and is 96 miles long and 35 miles wide. However, it is the sixth-most densely populated state.

We know car insurance research can be daunting but we promise to give the basics to make it easy in our guide. For instance, Delaware car insurance requires a minimum of 25/50/10 of bodily injury and property damage coverage. Wilmington has the highest average rates per year at $8,265.76. We also compare rates, companies, and safe driving tips.

If you’re ready to compare rates: Just enter your ZIP code here to compare quotes today.

Table of Contents

Delaware Car Insurance Coverage and Rates

An essential part of owning a vehicle is making sure you have the correct amount of car insurance coverage. And getting the best deal is a high priority too.

Like all states, Delaware requires it’s drivers to carry auto insurance.

What are the minimums required? What can make a difference in how expensive your rates are? What do you need to know about driving laws and statistics? Let’s dive into the information now.

What is Delaware’s car culture?

Drivers in some states tend to gravitate toward a certain type of vehicle, like trucks or SUVs. Not so in Delaware. The state is high in agriculture, so trucks make sense in that part of the state, while cars are most popular for the city dwellers.

Although the Chevrolet Silverado 1500 is the most popular vehicle, it does not mean Delawareans are all truck people. There does not seem to be a clear winner in the type of vehicle preferred overall. Drivers buy what fits their needs, not what is popular.

However, there is another type of culture in the state regarding cars. The type and number of the license plate you have on your vehicle is very important.

License plates in Delaware were created and issued in numerical order. When plates were first issued, only wealthy people had vehicles. This has led to the culture where plates with lower numbers are highly coveted. For example, plate number 11 sold at auction for $675,000 in 2008.

The state also allows plates to be passed down through generations, so original or older looking plates are highly valued, as well.

How much coverage is required for Delaware minimum coverage?

Because Delaware is an at-fault state, you will be responsible for all damages if you cause an accident.

Delaware requires that you carry liability insurance as a minimum. Liability insurance is the most basic insurance you can carry. If you cause an accident, liability insurance will cover the property or bodily injury of the people you hit. It will not cover your vehicle or any injuries to people in your car.

The minimums that you must carry as a driver are:

  • $25,000 for bodily injury per person in an accident where you are at fault
  • $50,000 for total bodily injury of two or more people are hurt, and you are at fault
  • $10,000 for property damage that you cause

You also must carry Personal Injury Protection (PIP). PIP pays medical bills, lost income, and other financial needs of any covered driver or passenger. It does not matter who is at fault in the accident.

You must carry these minimums:

  • $15,000 for one person injured and covered under the policy
  • $30,00 for all persons injured and covered under the policy

Property damage and medical bills can add up quickly. If you cause an accident with extensive damage, you can quickly exhaust these minimums. Then you may be held financially responsible for any overages. Most experts encourage drivers to carry more coverage in case of a serious accident.

This video will give you more information about PIP coverage.

If you get in an accident or stopped for a traffic violation, what do you need to have to show to law enforcement? Now that you know what kind of coverage you need, let’s look at what kind of documentation you need to show that you have the correct coverage.

What are the forms of financial responsibility in Delaware?

Law enforcement in Delaware will accept digital proof of insurance as well as the paper version. Many insurance companies have an app that you can access for the digital version when needed.

Keeping a paper copy on hand is still recommended in case you have no cellphone coverage or other issues with your phone.

Also, some other states like New Jersey and New York do not accept digital proof of insurance. You will need to keep a paper copy in your vehicle if you travel to other states.

If you do not have car insurance, you will have fines and penalties. The first offense will cost you up to $1,500. Additional offenses could cost you up to $3,000. You can also have your license suspended. These costs are in addition to any damages you would be responsible for in the event of an accident.

Carrying car insurance is a simple way to protect your financial future.

How much percentage of income are premiums in Delaware?

You work hard for your paycheck each week. Have you ever wondered what percentage of your hard-earned cash goes to auto insurance? Surprisingly, not very much of your income goes to car insurance. This table highlights the percentages from 2012–2014.

StatesFull Coverage
2014
Disposable
Income 2014
Insurance as %
of Income 2014
Full Coverage
2013
Disposable
Income 2013
Insurance as %
of Income 2013
Full Coverage
2012
Disposable
Income 2012
Insurance as %
of Income 2012
Delaware$1,215.69$40,256.003.02%$1,187.18$38,879.003.05%$1,153.59$38,893.002.97%
Maryland$1,096.37$46,875.002.34%$1,071.35$45,664.002.35%$1,056.82$46,815.002.26%
New Jersey$1,379.20$49,983.002.76%$1,369.70$47,972.002.86%$1,334.59$48,569.002.75%
Pennsylvania$950.42$42,414.002.24%$930.48$40,840.002.28%$915.83$41,020.002.23%
Average$1,160.42$44,882.002.59%$1,139.68$43,338.752.64%$1,115.21$43,824.252.55%

Compare RatesStart Now →

The average disposable income in 2014 was $44,882, and the average cost of full coverage car insurance was $1,215.69. That means that in that year, about 3 percent of your income went to car insurance. Although it is a small percentage, it is still higher than the national average of 2.4 percent.

Of the surrounding states, Pennsylvania had the lowest rates at 2.24 percent of the disposable income of $42,414. That is lower than the national average, as well.

Of course, these numbers have changed some in the last few years, but this data gives you an idea of what percentage of your income goes to car insurance. At such a low percentage, insurance can easily fit into your budget.

Use the calculator below to see what percentage you are currently. How do your numbers stack up?

CalculatorPro

What are the core coverages in Delaware?

There are four types of core coverages offered. They are liability, collision, comprehensive, and full coverage. The National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC) keeps data on insurance. Let’s look at how Delaware rates compare to the national average.

Type of CoverageDelaware AverageNational Average
Liability$799.30$538.73
Collision$318.77$322.61
Comprehensive$122.49$148.04
Full$1,240.57$1,009.38

Compare RatesStart Now →

Delaware is above the national average for liability and full coverages. Although Delaware only requires you to carry liability insurance, opting for more coverage could save you money in the event of an accident.

All of the different types of car insurance can leave your head spinning. This video will help breakdown what each type of insurance covers.

These are just the basic car insurance coverages available. There are additional coverages that you can add to your policy that will fit your specific needs. Keep reading to learn about some of them and to start thinking about what your needs are.

What additional liability is available in Delaware?

Additional liability coverage is available in Delaware, such as PIP, medical, and uninsured motorists. These additional coverages will help cover costs should you be in an accident.

The NAIC keeps data related to the additional coverages and the loss ratio for each coverage and company. The loss ratio refers to the dollar amount an insurance company pays out for claims versus what it brings in in premiums.

A loss ratio too low means the company is receiving more premiums than it needs for the claims being received. If the ratio is too high, that means a rate increase may be necessary to cover the number of claims being received.

Let’s look at the additional coverage and loss ratios for Delaware for 2013 through 2015.

Additional Coverage2015
Loss Ratio
2014
Loss Ratio
2013
Loss Ratio
Personal Injury Protection81.5975.4979.32
Medical135.54169.0486.94
Uninsured Motorist85.0885.4871.16

Compare RatesStart Now →

PIP insurance is mandatory in Delaware, and you can see the loss ratios are all well below 100 percent, so companies’ rates are on par with what they are paying in claims.

Medical insurance loss ratios for these years are very high. Being over 100 percent for two years in a row could signal a coming rate increase.

Uninsured motorist loss ratios also look good and are well below 100 percent. One reason could be that at 11.40 percent of uninsured drivers, Delaware is below the national average of 13 percent.

What add-ons, endorsements, and riders are available in Delaware?

Adding additional coverage to your policy may be a cost-effective way to make sure you are covered for the unexpected. Depending on your insurance company and needs, there are additional coverages that may be available to you. Some of them are:

These add-ons can save you big on repairs or accident damages. Talk to your agent to see what extra coverages are available to you.

Do gender and age affect my car insurance in Delaware?

Many factors can affect how much you pay for car insurance. Driving history is an obvious one. But what about the lesser-known factors? We will look at gender, age, marital status, and where you live in this section to see if those make a difference in your rates.

The table below shows averages based on coverage purchased and includes high-risk drivers and coverages other than the minimum required.

CompanySingle 17-Year-Old FemaleSingle 17-Year-Old MaleSingle 25-Year-Old FemaleSingle 25-Year-Old MaleMarried 35-Year-Old FemaleMarried 35-Year-Old MaleMarried 60-Year-Old FemaleMarried 60-Year-Old Male
Allstate P&C$13,198.18$15,406.57$3,876.03$4,113.55$3,680.77$3,617.49$3,230.45$3,405.48
Geico Advantage$6,449.50$6,710.85$2,798.53$2,699.68$2,660.39$2,952.77$2,562.65$2,983.93
Liberty Mut Fire Ins Co$27,326.93$41,390.16$12,287.48$17,022.83$12,287.48$12,287.48$12,138.88$12,138.88
Nationwide Mutual$7,151.92$9,060.24$3,345.06$3,575.26$3,017.56$2,994.99$2,753.71$2,742.95
Progressive Direct$10,102.13$11,159.65$2,437.17$2,371.56$1,994.89$1,844.62$1,754.37$1,790.24
State Farm Mutual Auto$8,048.04$10,393.68$3,162.14$3,294.46$2,818.09$2,818.09$2,600.14$2,600.14
Travelers Home & Marine Ins Co$9,243.54$14,106.72$1,745.40$1,906.92$1,634.80$1,642.27$1,610.37$1,568.84
USAA$4,729.53$5,556.07$1,615.19$1,773.54$1,286.77$1,265.78$1,191.65$1,189.30

Compare RatesStart Now →

As you can see, 17-year-old boys will pay significantly higher rates than 17-year-old girls. About age 25, the numbers start to even out for males and females, although females generally pay less than males.

One interesting note is that starting at age 35, Liberty Mutual and State Farm start charging the same rates for males and females.

Geico charges the least for teenagers out of companies available to everyone. Their average rate for a 17-year-old male is $6,710.85 and $6,449.50 for a 17-year-old female. But that is still roughly $4,000 a year more than for 25-year-olds.

Thankfully, there are ways to decrease the cost of car insurance for teens. This video will give you some helpful hints.

Looking for discounts is a great way to save money, whether or not you have a teenage driver. Be sure to talk to your agent about any additional discounts you can receive.

What are the cheapest rates by ZIP code in Delaware?

Do you know that where you live makes a difference in your car insurance rates as well? Living in an area with high theft or accident rates can cause companies to raise the rates to help offset what they are paying out in claims

Let’s look at the cheapest and most expensive ZIP codes in the state. Use the search boxes to see how your ZIP code stacks up.

ZIP CodeAverageAllstate P&CGeico AdvantageLiberty Mut Fire Ins CoNationwide MutualProgressive DirectState Farm Mutual AutoTravelers Home & Marine Ins CoUSAA
19930$4,953.79 $5,072.47 $3,368.23 $14,952.41 $3,618.62 $3,579.10 $3,750.13 $3,129.09 $2,160.30
19970$4,954.07 $5,072.47 $3,368.23 $14,952.41 $3,618.62 $3,564.49 $3,778.49 $3,242.25 $2,035.63
19975$4,956.80 $5,072.47 $3,368.23 $14,952.41 $3,618.62 $3,570.10 $3,744.19 $3,292.74 $2,035.63
19958$4,962.40 $5,412.91 $3,368.23 $14,952.41 $3,618.62 $3,570.10 $3,643.17 $3,065.55 $2,068.21
19944$4,964.30 $5,072.47 $3,368.23 $14,952.41 $3,618.62 $3,588.19 $3,712.08 $3,242.07 $2,160.30
19945$4,966.95 $5,072.47 $3,368.23 $14,952.41 $3,618.62 $3,555.71 $3,825.60 $3,306.95 $2,035.63
19966$4,971.33 $5,072.47 $3,368.23 $14,952.41 $3,618.62 $3,570.10 $3,870.21 $3,236.36 $2,082.21
19939$4,974.65 $5,072.47 $3,368.23 $14,952.41 $3,618.62 $3,555.71 $4,016.38 $3,177.74 $2,035.63
19968$4,979.39 $5,429.14 $3,368.23 $14,952.41 $3,618.62 $3,570.32 $3,739.43 $3,105.70 $2,051.24
19971$4,983.50 $5,412.91 $3,368.23 $14,952.41 $3,618.62 $3,550.32 $3,682.00 $3,215.30 $2,068.21
19967$4,986.08 $5,072.47 $3,368.23 $14,952.41 $3,618.62 $3,542.67 $3,931.65 $3,242.25 $2,160.30
19969$5,009.19 $5,429.14 $3,368.23 $14,952.41 $3,618.62 $3,616.52 $3,931.65 $3,105.70 $2,051.24
19947$5,051.49 $5,412.91 $3,368.23 $14,952.41 $3,618.62 $3,821.10 $3,842.95 $3,313.53 $2,082.21
19951$5,058.86 $5,412.91 $3,368.23 $14,952.41 $3,618.62 $3,548.04 $3,931.65 $3,410.96 $2,228.05
19950$5,262.52 $5,429.14 $3,368.23 $17,098.58 $3,618.62 $3,565.87 $3,866.72 $3,125.36 $2,027.68
19980$5,279.24 $5,791.83 $3,368.23 $16,074.32 $3,840.72 $3,878.50 $3,931.65 $3,314.76 $2,033.95
19940$5,280.34 $5,072.47 $3,368.23 $17,098.58 $3,618.62 $3,555.71 $3,839.96 $3,455.16 $2,233.99
19941$5,296.57 $5,429.14 $3,368.23 $17,098.58 $3,618.62 $3,551.24 $3,930.90 $3,324.60 $2,051.24
19960$5,300.74 $5,429.14 $3,368.23 $17,098.58 $3,618.62 $3,575.35 $3,944.94 $3,319.81 $2,051.24
19963$5,309.15 $5,429.14 $3,368.23 $17,098.58 $3,618.62 $3,589.97 $3,856.77 $3,359.91 $2,152.01
19956$5,309.29 $5,072.47 $3,368.23 $17,098.58 $3,618.62 $3,805.34 $3,900.52 $3,376.55 $2,233.99
19933$5,310.53 $5,412.91 $3,368.23 $17,098.58 $3,618.62 $3,806.74 $3,925.01 $3,226.46 $2,027.68
19906$5,312.12 $5,816.79 $3,476.23 $16,074.32 $3,941.48 $3,878.50 $3,931.65 $3,345.58 $2,032.44
19934$5,320.67 $5,586.31 $3,476.23 $16,074.32 $3,840.72 $3,922.50 $4,063.49 $3,567.87 $2,033.95
19952$5,325.34 $5,429.14 $3,368.23 $17,098.58 $3,840.72 $3,548.04 $3,967.94 $3,343.49 $2,006.59

Compare RatesStart Now →

If you live in ZIP codes 19930, 19970, or 19975, you have the cheapest rates in the state and will pay just under $5,000. Do you live in one of these zip codes? If not, take a look at the most expensive zip codes.

ZIP CodeAverageAllstate P&CGeico AdvantageLiberty Mut Fire Ins CoNationwide MutualProgressive DirectState Farm Mutual AutoTravelers Home & Marine Ins CoUSAA
19801$8,265.76 $7,592.25 $5,073.26 $26,050.32 $6,076.09 $5,271.17 $6,650.09 $6,423.76 $2,989.12
19802$8,136.26 $7,208.58 $5,073.26 $26,050.32 $6,076.09 $4,753.87 $6,344.73 $6,341.42 $3,241.84
19805$7,939.41 $7,495.23 $5,073.26 $26,050.32 $5,572.97 $5,271.17 $5,182.11 $6,063.95 $2,806.30
19736$7,863.61 $7,307.23 $4,026.75 $18,084.08 $4,734.88 $4,876.62 $4,971.52 $16,171.23 $2,736.58
19806$7,806.15 $7,495.23 $4,096.13 $26,050.32 $4,797.10 $4,750.71 $6,384.81 $6,067.16 $2,807.76
19733$7,549.45 $7,531.58 $4,594.56 $26,050.32 $5,558.03 $4,949.30 $4,971.52 $4,584.67 $2,155.61
19734$7,434.79 $7,109.37 $3,368.23 $18,248.83 $4,559.54 $4,471.08 $4,785.00 $14,780.71 $2,155.61
19732$7,433.65 $7,307.23 $4,026.75 $26,050.32 $5,558.03 $4,815.06 $4,971.52 $4,584.67 $2,155.61
19708$7,393.19 $7,277.45 $4,594.56 $26,050.32 $4,734.88 $4,608.77 $4,971.52 $4,274.36 $2,633.66
19720$7,378.97 $7,531.58 $4,594.56 $22,574.11 $5,558.03 $5,209.07 $6,083.30 $4,584.67 $2,896.48
19706$7,358.23 $7,531.58 $4,594.56 $22,574.11 $5,558.03 $5,162.50 $6,043.01 $4,505.60 $2,896.48
19731$7,329.63 $7,339.89 $3,368.23 $26,050.32 $5,558.03 $4,608.77 $4,971.52 $4,584.67 $2,155.61
19710$7,199.39 $7,307.23 $4,026.75 $26,050.32 $4,559.54 $4,815.06 $4,971.52 $3,709.07 $2,155.61
19702$7,071.81 $7,277.45 $4,024.31 $21,841.41 $5,558.03 $5,204.62 $6,015.33 $3,862.66 $2,790.67
19701$6,949.68 $7,277.45 $4,024.31 $21,841.41 $5,558.03 $4,399.78 $5,533.03 $4,172.74 $2,790.67
19713$6,828.11 $7,491.14 $4,024.31 $21,841.41 $4,734.88 $5,100.59 $4,786.53 $4,038.80 $2,607.20
19809$6,824.40 $6,883.73 $4,334.85 $20,610.11 $5,572.97 $4,833.40 $4,796.01 $4,397.52 $3,166.59
19703$6,767.07 $6,736.16 $4,334.85 $20,610.11 $5,336.40 $4,750.15 $5,015.02 $4,505.60 $2,848.28
19804$6,656.56 $7,524.44 $4,594.56 $18,084.08 $5,572.97 $5,079.02 $5,165.81 $4,242.46 $2,989.12
19803$6,372.49 $7,495.23 $4,541.61 $18,084.08 $4,797.10 $4,553.22 $4,672.63 $3,987.81 $2,848.28
19730$6,354.44 $7,339.89 $3,368.23 $18,248.83 $5,558.03 $4,608.77 $4,971.52 $4,584.67 $2,155.61
19707$6,339.10 $7,307.23 $4,026.75 $18,084.08 $4,734.88 $4,813.21 $4,838.60 $4,274.36 $2,633.66
19807$6,326.10 $7,307.23 $4,026.75 $18,084.08 $4,797.10 $4,859.03 $4,706.43 $4,206.58 $2,621.57
19716$6,296.25 $7,491.14 $4,024.31 $18,084.08 $4,734.88 $4,292.53 $4,971.52 $4,164.34 $2,607.20
19810$6,291.90 $6,883.73 $4,334.85 $18,084.08 $4,734.88 $4,530.89 $4,836.82 $4,179.92 $2,750.03

Compare RatesStart Now →

ZIP codes 19801, 19802, 19805 pay the most, at around $8,000.

The difference between the cheapest and most expensive ZIP codes is a whopping $3,000. That’s almost a 67 percent increase just based on where you live.

How did your city do? Are you paying more for car insurance because of where you live?

What are the cheapest rates by city in Delaware?

Let’s break the data down even further. These tables will show you the cheapest and most expensive cities to live in for car insurance rates.

Use the search box to find your city.

CityAverageAllstate P&CGeico AdvantageLiberty Mut Fire Ins CoNationwide MutualProgressive DirectState Farm Mutual AutoTravelers Home & Marine Ins CoUSAA
Bethany Beach$5,279.24 $5,791.83 $3,368.23 $16,074.32 $3,840.72 $3,878.50 $3,931.65 $3,314.76 $2,033.95
Bridgeville$5,058.86 $5,412.91 $3,368.23 $14,952.41 $3,618.62 $3,548.04 $3,931.65 $3,410.96 $2,228.05
Camden Wyoming$5,051.49 $5,412.91 $3,368.23 $14,952.41 $3,618.62 $3,821.10 $3,842.95 $3,313.53 $2,082.21
Dagsboro$5,009.19 $5,429.14 $3,368.23 $14,952.41 $3,618.62 $3,616.52 $3,931.65 $3,105.70 $2,051.24
Delmar$4,962.40 $5,412.91 $3,368.23 $14,952.41 $3,618.62 $3,570.10 $3,643.17 $3,065.55 $2,068.21
Dover$4,966.95 $5,072.47 $3,368.23 $14,952.41 $3,618.62 $3,555.71 $3,825.60 $3,306.95 $2,035.63
Dover$5,262.52 $5,429.14 $3,368.23 $17,098.58 $3,618.62 $3,565.87 $3,866.72 $3,125.36 $2,027.68
Dover$5,320.67 $5,586.31 $3,476.23 $16,074.32 $3,840.72 $3,922.50 $4,063.49 $3,567.87 $2,033.95
Dover AFB$4,974.65 $5,072.47 $3,368.23 $14,952.41 $3,618.62 $3,555.71 $4,016.38 $3,177.74 $2,035.63
Ellendale$5,309.29 $5,072.47 $3,368.23 $17,098.58 $3,618.62 $3,805.34 $3,900.52 $3,376.55 $2,233.99
Felton$4,953.79 $5,072.47 $3,368.23 $14,952.41 $3,618.62 $3,579.10 $3,750.13 $3,129.09 $2,160.30
Frankford$4,983.50 $5,412.91 $3,368.23 $14,952.41 $3,618.62 $3,550.32 $3,682.00 $3,215.30 $2,068.21
Frederica$5,312.12 $5,816.79 $3,476.23 $16,074.32 $3,941.48 $3,878.50 $3,931.65 $3,345.58 $2,032.44
Georgetown$5,309.15 $5,429.14 $3,368.23 $17,098.58 $3,618.62 $3,589.97 $3,856.77 $3,359.91 $2,152.01
Hartly$5,310.53 $5,412.91 $3,368.23 $17,098.58 $3,618.62 $3,806.74 $3,925.01 $3,226.46 $2,027.68
Laurel$5,325.34 $5,429.14 $3,368.23 $17,098.58 $3,840.72 $3,548.04 $3,967.94 $3,343.49 $2,006.59
Lewes$4,956.80 $5,072.47 $3,368.23 $14,952.41 $3,618.62 $3,570.10 $3,744.19 $3,292.74 $2,035.63
Little Creek$5,280.34 $5,072.47 $3,368.23 $17,098.58 $3,618.62 $3,555.71 $3,839.96 $3,455.16 $2,233.99
Marydel$5,296.57 $5,429.14 $3,368.23 $17,098.58 $3,618.62 $3,551.24 $3,930.90 $3,324.60 $2,051.24
Millsboro$4,954.07 $5,072.47 $3,368.23 $14,952.41 $3,618.62 $3,564.49 $3,778.49 $3,242.25 $2,035.63
Millville$4,971.33 $5,072.47 $3,368.23 $14,952.41 $3,618.62 $3,570.10 $3,870.21 $3,236.36 $2,082.21
Milton$4,979.39 $5,429.14 $3,368.23 $14,952.41 $3,618.62 $3,570.32 $3,739.43 $3,105.70 $2,051.24
Rehoboth Beach$4,986.08 $5,072.47 $3,368.23 $14,952.41 $3,618.62 $3,542.67 $3,931.65 $3,242.25 $2,160.30
Seaford$4,964.30 $5,072.47 $3,368.23 $14,952.41 $3,618.62 $3,588.19 $3,712.08 $3,242.07 $2,160.30
Woodside$5,300.74 $5,429.14 $3,368.23 $17,098.58 $3,618.62 $3,575.35 $3,944.94 $3,319.81 $2,051.24

Compare RatesStart Now →

The least expensive cities for car insurance rates in Delaware are Felton, Millsboro, and Lewes.

Now let’s look at the most expensive cities to live in.

CityAverageAllstate P&CGeico AdvantageLiberty Mut Fire Ins CoNationwide MutualProgressive DirectState Farm Mutual AutoTravelers Home & Marine Ins CoUSAA
Bear$7,329.63 $7,339.89 $3,368.23 $26,050.32 $5,558.03 $4,608.77 $4,971.52 $4,584.67 $2,155.61
Claymont$7,434.79 $7,109.37 $3,368.23 $18,248.83 $4,559.54 $4,471.08 $4,785.00 $14,780.71 $2,155.61
Delaware City$6,296.25 $7,491.14 $4,024.31 $18,084.08 $4,734.88 $4,292.53 $4,971.52 $4,164.34 $2,607.20
Hockessin$8,136.26 $7,208.58 $5,073.26 $26,050.32 $6,076.09 $4,753.87 $6,344.73 $6,341.42 $3,241.84
Middletown$6,291.90 $6,883.73 $4,334.85 $18,084.08 $4,734.88 $4,530.89 $4,836.82 $4,179.92 $2,750.03
Montchanin$7,378.97 $7,531.58 $4,594.56 $22,574.11 $5,558.03 $5,209.07 $6,083.30 $4,584.67 $2,896.48
New Castle$6,828.11 $7,491.14 $4,024.31 $21,841.41 $4,734.88 $5,100.59 $4,786.53 $4,038.80 $2,607.20
Newark$7,433.65 $7,307.23 $4,026.75 $26,050.32 $5,558.03 $4,815.06 $4,971.52 $4,584.67 $2,155.61
Newark$6,824.40 $6,883.73 $4,334.85 $20,610.11 $5,572.97 $4,833.40 $4,796.01 $4,397.52 $3,166.59
Newark$6,656.56 $7,524.44 $4,594.56 $18,084.08 $5,572.97 $5,079.02 $5,165.81 $4,242.46 $2,989.12
Newark$6,354.44 $7,339.89 $3,368.23 $18,248.83 $5,558.03 $4,608.77 $4,971.52 $4,584.67 $2,155.61
Newark$6,326.10 $7,307.23 $4,026.75 $18,084.08 $4,797.10 $4,859.03 $4,706.43 $4,206.58 $2,621.57
Odessa$8,265.76 $7,592.25 $5,073.26 $26,050.32 $6,076.09 $5,271.17 $6,650.09 $6,423.76 $2,989.12
Rockland$7,199.39 $7,307.23 $4,026.75 $26,050.32 $4,559.54 $4,815.06 $4,971.52 $3,709.07 $2,155.61
Saint Georges$7,393.19 $7,277.45 $4,594.56 $26,050.32 $4,734.88 $4,608.77 $4,971.52 $4,274.36 $2,633.66
Wilmington$7,939.41 $7,495.23 $5,073.26 $26,050.32 $5,572.97 $5,271.17 $5,182.11 $6,063.95 $2,806.30
Wilmington$7,863.61 $7,307.23 $4,026.75 $18,084.08 $4,734.88 $4,876.62 $4,971.52 $16,171.23 $2,736.58
Wilmington$7,549.45 $7,531.58 $4,594.56 $26,050.32 $5,558.03 $4,949.30 $4,971.52 $4,584.67 $2,155.61
Wilmington$7,071.81 $7,277.45 $4,024.31 $21,841.41 $5,558.03 $5,204.62 $6,015.33 $3,862.66 $2,790.67
Wilmington$6,949.68 $7,277.45 $4,024.31 $21,841.41 $5,558.03 $4,399.78 $5,533.03 $4,172.74 $2,790.67
Wilmington$6,767.07 $6,736.16 $4,334.85 $20,610.11 $5,336.40 $4,750.15 $5,015.02 $4,505.60 $2,848.28
Wilmington$6,372.49 $7,495.23 $4,541.61 $18,084.08 $4,797.10 $4,553.22 $4,672.63 $3,987.81 $2,848.28
Wilmington$6,339.10 $7,307.23 $4,026.75 $18,084.08 $4,734.88 $4,813.21 $4,838.60 $4,274.36 $2,633.66
Winterthur$7,806.15 $7,495.23 $4,096.13 $26,050.32 $4,797.10 $4,750.71 $6,384.81 $6,067.16 $2,807.76
Yorklyn$7,358.23 $7,531.58 $4,594.56 $22,574.11 $5,558.03 $5,162.50 $6,043.01 $4,505.60 $2,896.48

Compare RatesStart Now →

Living in Odessa, Hockessin, or Wilmington will cost you more in insurance.

There is a $3,671.97 difference between the cheapest and most expensive zip code in Delaware. That’s a lot of money to pay just because of where you live.

Where does your city fall? Are you paying more or less based on where you live?

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Best Delaware Car Insurance Companies

There are hundreds of car insurance companies out there. How do you choose the one that is best for you? How do you know you are getting the best deal and great coverage?

You also don’t want to compromise excellent service just to get a lower rate. We’ve taken a close look at the companies available in Delaware. Keep reading to find out which companies have the best rating and lowest rates.

What are the financial ratings of the largest car insurance companies in Delaware?

A.M. Best rates insurance companies to determine creditworthiness. Their ratings are based on the financial strength of the company.

How do the largest car insurance companies in Delaware rate?

GroupA.M. RatingDirect Premiums WrittenMarket ShareLoss Ratio
Allstate InsuranceA+$998,91911.42%55.64%
Erie InsuranceA+$1,153,85613.19%64.93%
Farmers InsuranceNR$192,1622.20%74.14%
GeicoA++$706,8978.08%74.24%
Liberty MutualA$424,1064.85%61.06%
Nationwide CorpA+$786,1098.99%59.96%
ProgressiveA+$875,57910.01%58.55%
State FarmA++$1,779,91520.35%63.70%
TravelersA++$335,9633.84%62.41%
*USAA (Military Only)A++$299,4883.42%72.05%

Compare RatesStart Now →

Travelers, State Farm, Geico, and USAA all have A++ ratings. An A++ rating means that a company has an exceptional ability to meet financial obligations.

Farmers did not show a rating, and Liberty Mutual had the lowest rating at an A. An A rating means that the company still has an excellent ability to meet financial obligations.

Which car insurance companies have the best ratings in Delaware?

J.D. Power ranks car insurance companies to see who rates the best in each region. The deciding factors are interaction, policy offerings, the billing process, policy information, and claims.

These are the 2019 ratings for the top companies in the Mid-Atlantic region, including Delaware.

CompanyPoints
(Based on a 1,000
point scale)
J.D Power.com
Power Circle rating
(for consumers)
Mid-Atlantic Average838O O O
Allstate816O O
CSAA Insurance817O O
Erie Insurance852O O O O O
Farmers826O O
Geico845O O O O
The Hartford842O O O O
Liberty Mutual817O O
Nationwide822O O
Plymouth Rock Assurance826O O
Progressive828O O
State Farm834O O O
Travelers821O O
*USAA898O O O O O

Compare RatesStart Now →

*USAA Insurance is only available to Military members and their families.

The best companies received five circles and are Erie Insurance and USAA.

It is important to note that USAA is only available to the military and their families.

Geico and The Hartford both received four circles, and the Mid-Atlantic average was three circles.

Which car insurance companies have the most complaints in Delaware?

No matter how good they are, all companies will receive some complaints. The question is how they deal with those complaints. Let’s look at the top 10 car insurance companies and their complaint ratios for 2017.

GroupNational Median
Complaint Ratio
Company Complaint
Ratio 2017
Total Complaints
2017
Allstate Insurance10.5163
CSAA Insurance13.976
Geico10.68333
Hartford Fire & Casualty14.689
Liberty Mutual15.95222
Nationwide Corp10.2825
Progressive10.75120
State Farm10.441482
Travelers10.092
USAA10.74296

Compare RatesStart Now →

All but three of the companies had ratios under 1 percent. Travelers Group was the lowest at 0.09 ratio. Liberty Mutual, The Hartford, and CSAA had the highest ratios. Liberty Mutual was by far the highest at 5.95.

What are the cheapest car insurance companies in Delaware?

Now to what you’ve been waiting for.

Let’s look at the annual average rates of eight carriers in Delaware.

Group Average RateCost Difference From Delaware Average of $5,986.32 Percent Difference From Delaware Average
Allstate$6,316.07 $329.745.22%
Geico Advantage $3,727.29 -$2,259.04-60.61%
Liberty Mutual$18,360.01 $12,373.6967.39%
Nationwide Mutual $4,330.21 -$1,656.11-38.25%
Progressive Direct $4,181.83 -$1,804.50-43.15%
State Farm Mutual Auto $4,466.85 -$1519.48-34.02%
Travelers Home & Marine$4,182.36 -$1,803.97-43.13%
USAA $2,325.98 -$3,660.34-157.37%

Compare RatesStart Now →

The annual average for USAA was $2,325.98, and Geico was $3,727.59. Those are both significantly lower than the state annual average of $5,986.32.

The most expensive carriers were Liberty Mutual at $18,360.01 and Allstate at $6,316.07.

Does my commute affect my car insurance rate in Delaware?

Did you know how far your commute is can affect your car insurance rates? Rates will increase the further you drive because of the possibility of being in an accident increase.

Group10-Mile Commute
6,000 Annual Mileage
25-Mile Commute
12,000 Annual Mileage
Allstate$6,316.06$6,316.06
Geico$3,668.09$3,786.48
Liberty Mutual$17,851.76$18,868.27
Nationwide$4,330.21$4,330.21
Progressive$4,181.83$4,181.83
State Farm$4,314.22$4,619.47
Travelers$4,182.36$4,182.36
USAA$2,301.33$2,350.62

Compare RatesStart Now →

Some companies do not charge more for a longer commute, but others charge up to $1,000 more. Being aware of how companies charge can save you money.

Working closer to home can save you time as well as money. Make sure you look at those factors when choosing an insurance company.

Can coverage level change my car insurance rate with companies in Delaware?

The type of coverage that you have will change the rate you pay for car insurance.

The table below shows eight companies with their average annual premiums based on coverages. Take a look at the table below to see which companies have the best rates for each type of coverage.

GroupLowMediumHigh
Allstate$5,776.86$6,390.63$6,780.70
Geico$3,346.29$3,781.75$4,053.82
Liberty Mutual$17,469.29$18,149.05$19,461.69
Nationwide$4,306.39$4,257.06$4,427.19
Progressive$3,663.70$4,231.00$4,650.79
State Farm$4,166.98$4,477.15$4,756.42
Travelers$3,961.39$4,310.79$4,274.89
USAA$2,177.57$2,322.08$2,478.30

Compare RatesStart Now →

Out of the companies that are available to everyone, Geico has the best rates for all types of coverages, low, middle, and high.

Have you decided what type of coverage is right for you? If so, you can compare it to the table above to get an idea of the rates you will be paying.

How does my credit history affect my car insurance rate with companies in Delaware?

A lot of aspects of your life go into figuring out your car insurance rate, including your credit history. Do you know your credit score? Which category do you fall in?

GroupGoodFairPoor
Allstate$5,094.26$5,748.80$8,105.13
Geico$2,195.57$3,205.19$5,781.10
Liberty Mutual$13,495.40$16,738.18$24,846.46
Nationwide$3,797.09$4,170.85$5,022.69
Progressive$3,780.31$4,090.99$4,674.19
State Farm$2,796.45$3,767.83$6,836.26
Travelers$4,028.81$3,851.51$4,666.75
USAA$1,327.18$1,841.00$3,809.76

Compare RatesStart Now →

On average, this is what you will pay based on your credit history.

  • Poor (300–579) – $7,967.79
  • Fair (580–669) – $5,426.79
  • Good (670+) – $4,564.38

Increasing your credit score can save you thousands.

Experian is one credit agency that keeps track of credit history. According to them, the national average credit score is 703, and the Delawarean’s average credit score is 701, which is in the good range.

Improving your credit score is a great way to save money on car insurance, not to mention it will help you in other areas of your finances as well.

This video will give you some tips on improving your credit score.

Request your free credit report from Experian, Equifax, or TransUnion to start improving your credit score today.

How does my driving record change my rates with car insurance companies in Delaware?

It should be obvious that your driving record will affect your car insurance rates. Drivers with speeding tickets, accidents, and DUIs will pay more than safe drivers. But do you know how much those high-risk factors will increase your rates?

Take a look at the data from 2018.

GroupClean RecordOne Speeding ViolationOne AccidentOne DUI
Allstate$5,339.71$6,062.01$6,398.38$7,464.16
Geico$2,859.02$3,247.89$3,960.12$4,842.11
Liberty Mutual$14,685.04$15,044.50$16,885.42$26,825.11
Nationwide$3,454.89$4,081.55$3,454.89$6,329.52
Progressive$3,602.97$4,247.32$4,773.89$4,103.13
State Farm$4,048.67$4,466.85$4,885.02$4,466.85
Travelers$3,563.54$3,744.85$3,573.78$5,847.26
USAA$1,916.79$2,189.94$1,916.79$3,280.40

Compare RatesStart Now →

On average, your car insurance rates with a clean driving record are $4,933.83. How do traffic violations change that?

  • One speeding ticket raises your rates around $450
  • One accident raises your rates by almost $800
  • One DUI raises your rates by almost $3,000

Having multiple violations can cause your car insurance rates to skyrocket. And that’s on top of the fines you can expect to go along with each incident.

Not driving safely can cost you hundreds, if not thousands, of dollars. Being a responsible driver will help keep your car insurance rates as low as possible.

Which car insurance companies are the largest in Delaware?

You have a lot of choices when it comes to car insurance companies. We’ve listed the 10 largest in the state for you, along with their market share and loss ratio data.

RankGroupDirect Premiums WrittenLoss RatioMarket Share
1State Farm$208,11369.02%24.36%
2Geico$149,13083.24%17.46%
3Nationwide Corp$117,71660.95%13.78%
4Progressive$71,53659.97%8.37%
5Liberty Mutual$65,88766.90%7.71%
6USAA$65,69082.08%7.69%
7Allstate Insurance$50,79457.40%5.95%
8Hartford Fire & Casualty$22,10765.96%2.59%
9Travelers$16,34954.73%1.91%
10CSAA Insurance$13,997120.36%1.64%

Compare RatesStart Now →

CSAA has the lowest market share at 1.64 percent but has the highest loss ratio at 120.36 percent. A loss ratio that high can signal either the company is in financial trouble or rates will be increasing soon.

State Farm has 24.36 percent of the market share and a loss ratio of 69.02 percent. That means that the company pays out an average of $69 per every $100 they bring in with premiums. The company looks financially stable.

How many car insurance companies are available in Delaware?

Car insurance companies are either domestic or foreign in each state. Domestic means the companies are in-state, and foreign means the companies are out-of-state.

There are 101 domestic insurance companies in Delaware. But that does not mean that you only have 101 to choose from. The state also allows out-of-state companies to be licensed there as well. You have hundreds to choose from.

Enter your ZIP code here to start getting quotes from some of them.

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Delaware Laws

Each state has its own laws for car insurance and driving. Knowing your state laws can save you money in fines and car insurance rates. Breaking these laws can cost you money and possible jail time.

What are the car insurance laws in Delaware?

Do you already know your licensing laws? Chances are you learned them when you got your license but could use a refresher.

We are going to go over some of the most common laws to give you the knowledge you need to be a safe driver.

How Delaware Laws for Insurance Are Determined

The Delaware Department of Insurance regulates and oversees all things insurance in the state. They have even produced an all-inclusive guide to auto insurance.

Now let’s discuss some of those laws in more detail.

Windshield Coverage

Delaware does not have any specific laws concerning windshield replacement or repair. However, if you have only liability insurance, windshield damage will not be covered. Comprehensive coverage may cover the repair or replacement of your windshield if it is stated in your policy.

There are specific laws that cover other aspects of windshields, like wipers, cracks, and tint. Here are just a few:

  • All vehicles must have windshields, except antique and classic cars that were made without them
  • All vehicles must have working windshield wipers
  • Vehicles made after July 1, 1937, must have windshields made of safety glass to reduce shattering and flying glass
  • A single crack in the windshield is permitted as long as it does not affect the driver’s vision
  • Posters, signs, and other nontransparent material is not allowed on the windshield unless required by law
  • You cannot leave a removable placard on the rearview mirror when moving
  • You cannot have mirrored or metallic window tint
  • Tint on the front side windows must let in a minimum 70 percent of light

Fines for violating windshield laws can range from $25–$230 and can result in 10–30 days in jail. Following these laws is an easy way to save money.

High-Risk Insurance

An SR-22 is an addition to your car insurance that may be required if you are a high-risk driver. This is a form that lets the state know that you have at least the minimum car insurance required. However, it will generally signal to your insurance company that you are an unsafe driver, and your rates will increase.

Some reasons you might need an SR-22:

  • Multiple speeding tickets
  • Multiple accidents
  • DUI
  • Reckless or unsafe driving convictions

This video will break down why you need an SR-22 and what the steps are once you are required to have one.

We’ve looked at what can raise your rates. Now let’s look at ways you can save money.

Low-Cost Insurance

Unfortunately, Delaware does not offer low-cost insurance for low-income families. There is good news, though. Most insurance companies offer discounts that can help bring your premium down. These are just a few that are offered.

Making good grades, serving in the military, taking a driving course, and having more than one policy with the same company can save you money.

Talk to your agent to determine if you are eligible for any discounts.

Automobile Insurance Fraud in Delaware

Insurance fraud is a billion-dollar industry. In fact, the FBI estimates that insurance fraud has an average annual cost of $40 billion dollars, and that averages out to $400–$700 per year for each U.S. family as insurance companies try to recoup their losses.

The Insurance Information Institute (III) defines insurance fraud as “a deliberate deception perpetrated against or by an insurance company or agent for the purpose of financial gain.”

Auto insurance fraud can include staging an accident, padding claims, submitting claims for injuries or damages that never happened, or falsely reporting a vehicle stolen.

If you have any information about insurance fraud, you can contact the Delaware Department of Insurance:

  • fraud@delaware.gov
  • (800) 632-5154

All contact is kept confidential.

Statute of Limitations

What if you are in an accident that wasn’t your fault and wound up in the hospital? Or your new car gets totaled? If a person has the minimum car insurance required, chances are your damages are going to cost more than the other driver’s insurance policy will pay.

What do you do then? You may have to sue the responsible driver in order to cover those costs. There are laws in place to determine how long you have to decide.

In regards to auto insurance, the statute of limitations refers to how long you have to file a lawsuit or claim after an accident. In Delaware, you have two years from the date of the accident to file either a personal injury or property damage suit.

If someone dies as the result of an accident, you have two years from the date of death to file a lawsuit. The two-year window is strictly enforced, so you do not want to wait too long to file your claim.

Delaware-Specific Laws

Each state has its own specific laws regarding driving. We’ve compiled a list of some of the auto laws in Delaware and even a couple of unique ones.

  • You may not change clothes in your vehicle in Rehoboth Beach.
  • Since drive-in movie theaters are not allowed to show R-rated movies, you won’t be watching one from your car.
  • You may only use snow chains from October 15 to April 15.
  • You may not use your horn when passing an animal-drawn vehicle or bicycle unless there’s an emergency.
  • You must have a working muffler on your vehicle.

Now that we’ve talked about some fun laws, we will jump into the laws that affect your everyday life.

What are the vehicle licensing laws in Delaware?

In this section, we are going to tackle some of the laws that you really need to know. Real ID, penalties, teen driving, and licensing requirements will be covered in this section. Keep scrolling to keep learning.

REAL ID

The REAL ID Act was put into place as a measure to battle identity theft and add a layer of security after 9/11. It creates minimum security standards to be issued a state driver’s license.

As of October 1, 2020, if you do not have a REAL ID, you will be unable to board planes without a passport or access certain federal facilities.

Delaware is compliant with the REAL ID act and offers it to its citizens. The only difference you will see on your license is a gold star in the upper right-hand corner.

This video gives you some additional information about REAL IDs.

Head to your local DMV to get your REAL ID before October 1, 2020, to save yourself hassle the next time you fly.

Penalties for Driving Without Insurance

Despite car insurance costing only a small part of the average annual income, some people still do not purchase it. This can come with steep fines and penalties.

The fine for not having auto insurance is $1,500 for a first offense and $3,000 for any subsequent offenses within three years. There is also a possibility that you could lose your license for six months.

Since Delaware allows you to show either a paper copy or an electronic copy, showing proof of insurance should be easy.

Teen Driver Laws

Delaware has a graduated system for teens to get their license. That means that at different ages, a teen has different driving privileges.

LicenseAge RequirementsRequirements / Restrictions
Learner's16 years old with driver's ed50 hours of driving, 10 at night
Licensed adult at least 25 years old supervising
Restricted16 1/2 years oldOne passenger other than supervising adult
No driving 10 p.m. to 6 a.m.
FullSix months of Restricted or age 17, whichever comes firstNone

Compare RatesStart Now →

A 16-year-old can get their learner’s permit if they have completed a driver’s education course. Once they meet the requirements, they can receive their restricted license at 16 and a half, and full license at 17.

As we saw above, car insurance for teens is very expensive. There are ways to bring that cost down, though, like with a good student discount. Make sure you ask for any discounts your company offers.

Teen drivers are less experienced and are at a higher risk for accidents. In fact, statistically, one in five 16-year-old drivers will have an accident in their first year of driving.

This video, created by the Delaware Office of Highway Safety, details some dangers teen drivers can face.

Talk with your teens about the dangers of driving and help them be prepared when they go out on their own.

Older Driver License Renewal Procedures

Older drivers in Delaware have the same license renewal procedures. There are no changes based on age.

New Residents

New residents have 60 days to change their previous driver’s license to a Delaware license. You must also prove proof of legal presence, such as a birth certificate or passport.

In addition, you must provide your Social Security card and two proofs of legal residency in Delaware. You will have to pass an eye exam but won’t have to take a driver’s test.

License Renewal Procedures

According to the Insurance Institute for Highway Safety (IIHS), all drivers must renew their licenses every eight years.

You can renew your driver’s license up to six months before it expires. If you do not renew by the expiration date, you will be charged a $10 fine.

You can also renew your license online in Delaware on the website www.dmv.de.gov. You will print out a paper copy, and your new license will be mailed to you within two weeks.

You can not renew online if you have a commercial driver’s license, are in the graduated system to receive your license, or had used the self-serve kiosk at your last DMV visit.

Negligent Operator Treatment System (NOTS)

Although Delaware does not have a negligent operator treatment system, it does have laws regarding reckless and careless driving.

Delaware defines reckless driving as “driving in willful or wanton disregard for the safety of persons or property.”

Willful means intentional, and wanton means the person understood the dangers and did it anyway. An example would be passing a stopped school bus.

Reckless driving penalties are:

  • First offense – 10 to 30 days in jail and/or $110 to $300 in fines
  • Repeat offense – 30 to 60 days in jail and/or $300 to $1,000 in fines
  • Each offense – Six points added to your license. Receiving 14 or more points in 24 months will cause a mandatory suspension of your license.

Delaware also allows for careless or inattentive driving. The law defines careless driving as “operating a vehicle in a careless or imprudent manner or without due regard for road, weather, and traffic conditions.” Driving over the speed limit in the rain would be an example of careless driving.

Inattentive driving refers to “failing to give full time and attention or failing to maintain a proper lookout” when driving. Putting on makeup or eating could fall under inattentive driving.

Careless or inattentive driving penalties are:

  • First offense – $25 to $75 in fines
  • Repeat offense – $50 to $95 in fines
  • Each offense – Two points added to your license.

Reckless driving is a much more serious crime and carries stiffer penalties than careless and inattentive driving. Both will cause your insurance rates to go up, though.

Driving carefully and following traffic laws will help you keep your rates down and lessen your chances of being in an accident.

What are the rules of the road in Delaware?

Knowing your state’s rules of the road can save you money on your car insurance. Traffic tickets for breaking these laws can cost you hundreds of dollars.

Fault Versus No-Fault

If you are in an accident, who is responsible for the damages? Whose insurance does the accident go against?

Delaware is an at-fault state. That means that the person who is at fault in the accident must pay for any damages.

Typically, the at-fault driver’s car insurance will cover those damages, but if you carry just the minimum liability requirements, those damages may not be fully covered.

The PIP coverage the state requires will help cover your damages that the liability coverage will not cover for you and people in the policy.

When a state has no-fault laws, it means that when in an accident, your own car insurance will pay for the damages. It does not matter if you caused the accident or not. Drivers can only sue the at-fault driver if the case meets certain criteria for severe injuries and pain and suffering.

Seat Belt and Car Seat Laws

Wearing your seatbelt can save you from serious injuries in the event of an accident. All states have some sort of seat belt and car seat laws. These are the ones for Delaware.

Seat Belt and Car Seat LawsDetails
Primary enforcement?Yes; effective 06/30/03
Who is covered? In what seats?16+ years in all seats
Must Be in Child Safety Seat7 years and younger and less than 66 pounds
Adult Belt Permissible8 through 15 years or 66+ pounds
Maximum Base Fine for First Offense; Additional Fees May Apply$25
Preference for Rear SeatChildren 11 years and younger and 65 inches or less must be in rear seat if passenger airbag is active

Compare RatesStart Now →

The seatbelt law in Delaware is a primary law. That means you can be stopped for not wearing a seatbelt or not having a child in a child safety seat. The officer does not need another reason to stop you. You will be fined $25 as well.

This short video shows you what happens to your body in a car crash when you do not have on your seatbelt.

Wearing a seatbelt is important, no matter what seat you are in. It can save your life and the lives of the people in the car with you.

Keep Right and Move Over Laws

We’ve all been behind that driver. You know, the one that clogs up traffic by driving slowly in the left lane, The one that annoys everyone by driving for miles in the left lane, when they clearly should be in the right lane.

Delaware is trying to combat that problem with a keep right law. This means that if you are going slower than traffic, you need to be in the right lane. This helps traffic flow smoothly, lower commute times, and reduce road rage.

To increase safety, Delaware also has a move over law. If you come upon an emergency vehicle, tow truck, or public utility vehicle with flashing lights on your side of the road, you must slow down and move over.

An important item to note is that traffic fines will be doubled in work zones, so watch your speed and move over when necessary.

Speed Limits

It’s important to know the speeds of the roads you are driving on. Driving within the speed limit will save you time and money on fines and higher insurance rates.

Road TypeSpeed Limit (mph)
Rural Interstates65
Urban Interstates55
Other Limited Access Roads 65
Other Roads55

Compare RatesStart Now →

Delaware has a points-based system related to its licensing. Most traffic violations will assign you points as well as fines.

ViolationPoints
Speeding One to Nine Miles per Hour (mph) Over Posted Limit2
Speeding 10–14 mph Over Posted Limit4
Speeding 15–19 mph Over Posted Limit5
Speeding 20 mph or More Over Posted Limit*5
Reckless Driving6
Passing a Stopped School Bus6

Compare RatesStart Now →

*May result in additional actions including suspension.
As you can see, driving 20 mph over the speed limit may result in your license being suspended. The more points you accumulate on your license, the stiffer the penalty.

Calculated PointsAction Item
8The Division of Motor Vehicles sends the driver an advisory letter.
12Driver must complete a behavior modification/attitudinal-driving course within 90 days after notification (unless extended by DMV). Failure to comply or upon preference of the driver, mandatory 2-month suspension will be imposed.
14Mandatory four-month license suspension. To become eligible for reinstatement, the driver must complete or have completed a behavior modification/attitudinal driving course within the previous two years, as of the time of reinstatement.
16Mandatory six-month license suspension. To become eligible for reinstatement, the driver must complete or have completed a behavioral modification/attitudinal-driving course within the previous two years, as of the time of reinstatement.
18Mandatory eight-month license suspension. To become eligible for reinstatement, the driver must complete or have completed a behavior modification/attitudinal driving course within the previous two years, as of the time of reinstatement.
20Mandatory 10-month license suspension. To become eligible for reinstatement, he driver must complete or have completed a behavior modification/attitudinal driving course within the previous two years, as of the time of reinstatement.
22Mandatory 12-month license suspension. To become eligible for reinstatement, the driver must complete or have completed a behavior modification/attitudinal driving course within the previous two years, as of the time of reinstatement.

Compare RatesStart Now →

Once you receive 14 points, your license will start being suspended. You will also have to attend a driving course,

Speeding in Delaware will cost you in time, fines, classes, and insurance rates.

Ridesharing

Getting a ride in Delaware isn’t all that hard. According to RideGuru, there are a lot of rideshare opportunities in Delaware. Commonly known companies like Lyft and Uber are available, as well as taxi and limo services.

Rideshare Delaware, a part of the Delaware Authority of Regional Transit (DART), will even help you connect with people to carpool to and from work.

Ridesharing is a great way to save on vehicle costs. You can even make some money driving your vehicle for a rideshare company, but how does it affect your insurance rate?

While you are driving a fare for a company like Uber or Lyft, that company’s auto insurance will cover any accidents that happen. But when you are driving to or from a fare, your personal auto insurance would cover an accident.

Not all traditional auto insurance companies and policies will cover those claims, so you need to make sure you have spoken with your agent before becoming a driver.

Automation on the Road

Cars are becoming more and more automated. Chances are you already own a car with some type of automation.

If your car helps you stay in your lane, parallel park, or maintain a safe distance from other cars, then you already have an automated car. Cars that can drive themselves, like the ones made by Tesla, are going to become more and more available.

Is Delaware ready?

Governor John Carney signed an executive order to establish the Advisory Council on Connected and Automated Vehicles. The purpose of this council is to create recommendations for ways to prepare Delaware for these advanced vehicles.

As this technology becomes more advanced, insurance companies will also have to adjust their way of thinking. Will policies be lower for vehicles that are automated and have more safety features? How will different automation affect drivers and accident statistics?

States and insurance companies will need to work together with automakers to revamp laws and policies as automation gets more advanced and available.

What are the safety laws in Delaware?

Delaware has its own set of safety laws to govern its drivers. We have already covered a few of them like seatbelts and speeding. Now it’s time to cover laws regulating impaired driving.

DUI Laws

Driving under the influence (DUI) will cost you thousands of dollars in fines and higher car insurance premiums. Delaware has very strict laws. Let’s take a look at how a DUI is determined and the laws surrounding it.

A DUI is determined by blood alcohol content (BAC). BAC is the amount of alcohol in your blood and can vary depending on gender, size, and what type of alcohol ingested. Although 0.08 percent is the national legal limit, Delaware may prosecute you with a BAC level of 0.05 percent.

A person can be charged with a DUI if they are driving or operating a motorized vehicle while under the influence.

Delaware also has an implied consent rule. The rule says that when you get behind the wheel, you agree to take a breath or blood test. If you refuse to take the test, law enforcement can get a warrant and have a blood test performed.

You will have your license automatically suspended for refusing to be tested. The first time, your license will be suspended for 12 months, the second time will be 18 months, and the third time will be 24 months.

The penalties for a DUI in Delaware are stiff.

Penalty TypeFirst OffenseSecond OffenseThird OffenseFourth OffenseFifth OffenseSixth OffenseSeventh Offense
Criminal StatusMisdemeanorMisdemeanorClass G felonyClass E felonyClass E felonyClass D felonyClass C felony
Revoked License12 months18 months24 monthsFive yearsFive yearsFive yearsFive years
ImprisonmentUp to 12 months60 days to 18 monthsMinimum one year to maximum two yearsTwo to five yearsThree to five yearsFour to eight yearsFive to 15 years
Fine$550–$1,500$750–$2,500$5000Up to $7000 Up to $10,000Up to $10,000Up to $15,000
Ignition Interlock Device (IID) RequirementInstalled on vehicle for 12–23 months after 30 days of suspended licenseInstalled on all vehicles in offender's name for 16–48 months depending on blood alcohol content (BAC)MandatoryMandatoryMandatoryMandatoryMandatory
OtherEnrollment in a rehab programEnrollment in a rehab programNANANANANA

Compare RatesStart Now →

First and second offenses are considered misdemeanors, and subsequent offenses are felonies. With fines starting at $550 and losing your license for at least a year, it just isn’t worth risking a DUI.

Call a rideshare or a friend for a ride. Don’t take the chance.

Marijuana-Impaired Driving Laws

Delaware allows for the use of medical marijuana when a physician certifies the need. The state does not allow for recreational use, however.

The same DUI laws and punishments that are in place for alcohol cover marijuana-impaired driving as well. It will also raise your insurance rates the same.

Distracted Driving Laws

Have you ever seen someone texting, playing with their dog, eating, or putting on makeup and driving? Those are all examples of distracting driving.

Each state has its own distracted driving laws in place to help reduce the number of accidents caused by drivers not paying attention.

Drivers in Delaware are not allowed to use any handheld device or text while driving, and drivers who do not have a full license yet are not allowed any cellphone use while behind the wheel. School bus drivers can only use their phones while parked or in an emergency.

With cellphones, navigation systems, and a world full of distractions, it is no wonder distracted driving is becoming a bigger and bigger issue.

Driving while distracted will get you a ticket and possibly cause you or someone else to be hurt. It’s just not worth it. Put down your phone and wait to send that text.

Driving in Delaware

You live in Delaware, drive the roads every day, and know the best routes to get to work, where you like to shop, and where you like to play. But do you know the facts about driving in your state? What are the dangers you face on a daily basis?

In this section, we will break down the statistics of driving in Delaware, like how many vehicle thefts occur, what roads are dangerous, and how to stay safe on the roads. We will also talk about what vehicles are on the roads and how your commute looks.

How many vehicle thefts occur in Delaware?

Unfortunately, vehicle theft is a common occurrence. It takes a lot of your time and money to recover when your car is stolen. Did you know that some types of cars are stolen more often than others? Let’s look at the data for the most stolen cars in 2015.

RankMake/ModelYear of VehicleThefts
1Honda Civic200053
2Honda Accord200443
3Chevrolet Pickup (Full Size)200536
4Ford Pickup (Full Size)199931
5Chevrolet Impala200728
6Nissan Altima200623
6Honda CR-V200123
8Ford Taurus200222
9Toyota Corolla201021
10Toyota Camry201220

Compare RatesStart Now →

The car stolen most often was the Honda Civic, and seven of the top 10 were passenger cars. Is your car at risk?

Now let’s look at what cities had the most stolen cars. Search for your city in the box below.

CityPopulationVehicle Thefts
Bethany Beach1,2182
Blades1,4042
Bridgeville2,3450
Camden3,4920
Cheswold1,4351
Clayton3,1980
Dagsboro8951
Delaware City1,7503
Delmar1,7941
Dewey Beach3861
Dover38,08461
Ellendale4301
Elsmere6,10213
Felton1,4260
Fenwick Island4340
Frankford9691
Frederica8380
Georgetown7,3387
Greenwood1,1050
Harrington3,6994
Kenton2680
Laurel4,23810
Lewes3,1312
Middletown21,21314
Milford11,22313
Millsboro4,3661
Milton2,9321
New Castle5,36213
Newark33,72226
Newport1,0493
Ocean View2,1170
Rehoboth Beach1,5163
Seaford7,8806
Selbyville2,4665
Smyrna11,5939
South Bethany5180
Viola1730
Wilmington71,552432
Wyoming1,5161

Compare RatesStart Now →

Wilmington had the most thefts at 432, but it also has the highest population. Twenty-one cities had one or fewer thefts for the entire year.

How did your city do? Was it on the low end or the high end for thefts?

The type of car you drive and the number of thefts in the city you live in may affect your car insurance rates.

How many road fatalities occur in Delaware?

Driving a vehicle always comes with the risk of a serious accident. Thousands of people lose their lives in car crashes every year.

With just under 14,000 miles of roads in Delaware, the state sits just above the national average for road fatalities.

YearLocationFatalitiesTotal PopulationFatalities per 100,000 Population
2014Delaware124932,59613.3
US32,744318,386,42110.28
2015Delaware131941,41313.92
US35,484320,742,67311.06
2016Delaware119949,21612.54
US37,806323,071,34211.7
2017Delaware119957,07812.43
US37,473325,147,12111.52
2018Delaware111967,17111.48
US36,560327,167,43411.17

Compare RatesStart Now →

Below we will break the data down even further by road, weather, and more. Keep reading to learn about fatalities in Delaware.

Most Fatal Highway in Delaware

Although all roads can be dangerous, U.S. 13 is considered the most fatal highway in the state. U.S. 13 runs from North Carolina to Pennsylvania and from end to end in Delaware.

Fatal Crashes by Weather Condition and Light Condition

Accidents can happen no matter the weather or light conditions. Are you more likely to be in a fatal crash in the dark? Or when it’s raining?

Weather ConditionDaylightDark, but LightedDarkDawn or DuskOther / UnknownTotal
Normal4115385099
Rain2281013
Snow/Sleet000000
Other000000
Unknown000000
TOTAL43174660112

Compare RatesStart Now →

The data from 2017 shows you are more likely to be in a fatal crash under normal weather conditions during the day than at night in bad weather.

According to a report by the Delaware State Police, you are more likely to be in a fatal accident on a Friday and/or from 8 p.m. to midnight.

Fatalities (All Crashes) by County

The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) compiles data on traffic accidents from around the country. We will use their data to look at the fatal crash statistics in Delaware.

County2014 Fatalities2015 Fatalities2016 Fatalities2017 Fatalities2018 Fatalities2014 Fatalities
per 100,000 Population
2015 Fatalities
per 100,000 Population
2016 Fatalities
per 100,000 Population
2017 Fatalities
per 100,000 Population
2018 Fatalities
per 100,000 Population
Kent212731212412.2515.617.7611.913.44
New Castle596353595410.7111.389.5410.69.65
Sussex444135393320.9219.115.9617.3914.39

Compare RatesStart Now →

New Castle County had the largest number of fatalities, but it also has over 50 percent of the population. By population, it has the lowest number of fatal crashes.

Traffic Fatalities

This table will tell you if more fatal accidents happened in rural or urban areas.

Location200920102011201220132014201520162017
Rural686558575164626961
Urban483641574860695056
Unknown000000002
Total1161019911499124131119119

Compare RatesStart Now →

The data shows that more traffic fatalities occurred in rural areas, although the numbers are similar for both types of areas.

Fatalities by Person Type

How many fatalities are people riding in a car, truck, or bus? How many are pedestrians or cyclists?

Person Type 2014 Total2014 Percent2015 Total2015 Percent2016 Total2016 Percent2017 Total2017 Percent2018 Total2018 Percent
OccupantsPassenger Car45365038423544373532
Light Truck – Utility1310118141214121312
Light Truck – Pickup9754878787
Light Truck – Van6532873365
Light Truck – Other0000110000
Large Truck4322110011
Bus3200000011
Other/Unknown Occupants0011001100
MotorcyclistsTotal Motorcyclists1512191514121081715
NonoccupantsPedestrian26213627272333282321
Bicyclist and Other Cyclist3232225465
Other/Unknown Nonoccupants0011221111
TotalTotal124100131100119100119100111100

Compare RatesStart Now →

Most fatalities happen to people riding in passenger cars, which makes sense because passenger cars are more common. Pedestrians have the next highest number of traffic fatalities. It is so important to pay attention as drivers and pedestrians to bring these statistics down and save lives.

This video was created to show how speed affects your ability to stop your vehicle before hitting a pedestrian.

You can easily see that driving slowly can stop an accident from occurring and possibly save a life.

Fatalities by Crash Type

Traffic accidents are categorized by several factors like speeding and how many vehicles are involved. This data shows the types of fatal crashes that occurred in Delaware from 2014–2018.

Crash Type20142015201620172018
Single Vehicle6771716255
Involving a Roadway Departure6348574548
Involving Speeding4535393333
Involving an Intersection (or Intersection Related)2636373922
Involving a Large Truck121291515
Involving a Rollover2316201312

Compare RatesStart Now →

Most fatalities during that timeframe involved a single vehicle or a roadway departure. Surprisingly, the data shows that more people died from running off the road than from speeding.

Five-Year Trend for Three Counties

This table will show you how the three counties in Delaware rate for traffic fatalities.

2018 RankingCounty2014 Fatalities2015 Fatalities2016 Fatalities2017 Fatalities2018 Fatalities
1New Castle5963535954
2Sussex4441353933
3Kent2127312124
TotalAll Counties124131119119111

Compare RatesStart Now →

From 2014–2018, New Castle County has had the most fatalities. Even though New Castle is the smallest county at 438 square miles, each year, it almost doubles the number of fatal crashes in Kent County.

Fatalities Involving Speeding by County

Speeding is a huge contributor to accidents. Let’s see how many speed-related fatalities occurred in each county.

County2014 Fatalities2015 Fatalities2016 Fatalities2017 Fatalities2018 Fatalities
Kent531486
New Castle2718121617
Sussex131413910

Compare RatesStart Now →

New Castle County had as many speeding fatalities as Sussex and Kent Counties combined in the five years, with the exception of 2016. That year New Castle County had the least speeding fatalities of all three counties.

Fatalities in Crashes Involving an Alcohol-Impaired Driver by County

DUIs are easily preventable but still cause traffic fatalities throughout the state. This table breaks down DUI fatal crashes by county.

County2014 Fatalities2015 Fatalities2016 Fatalities2017 Fatalities2018 Fatalities
Kent1077107
New Castle2319161415
Sussex18141476

Compare RatesStart Now →

New Castle County had nearly the same amount of alcohol-related fatalities in Delaware in 2018 as the other counties combined.

Teen Drinking and Driving

According to the 2016 FBI statistics, Delaware ranks 50th in the nation for DUI arrests under age 18 and 49th in the nation for DUIs from 18 to 21 years old. The state also ranks 49th for DUIs overall. It seems Delaware is doing a great job combating driving under the influence.

Thankfully, some teens are learning from their DUI experiences and are sharing them with other teens. Hearing and seeing firsthand the damage that can be caused by drinking and driving will stick with them forever and hopefully help them make good decisions.

Delaware has done a good job of reducing underage DUI fatalities. But there is always room for improvement and education.

EMS Response Time

How quickly you receive medical attention can make a difference between life and death in the event of a serious car crash. NHTSA has compiled data from 2017 on how quickly EMS responded to crashes in rural and urban areas.

LocationTime of Crash to EMS NotificationEMS Notification to EMS ArrivalEMS Arrival at Scene to Hospital ArrivalTime of Crash to Hospital ArrivalTotal Crashes
Rural4.237.4434.3143.8457
Urban4.425.7421.5330.554

Compare RatesStart Now →

Notification times and EMS arrival times are very similar, whether you are in a rural or urban area. However, there is almost a 15-minute difference in the time EMS was notified to the arrival at the hospital. Despite that time difference, the number of crashes that wound up as a fatality is almost the same.

What is transportation like in Delaware?

The number of cars on the road, commute times, and traffic congestion cost you time and money. Let’s look at the traffic situation in Delaware.

Car Ownership

Delaware is above the national average when it comes to median household income. Perhaps that is why around 40 percent of Delaware households own two vehicles, and 20 percent own three. Fifteen percent of households own three or more vehicles.

Commute Time

The national average commute time is 25.7 minutes. Delaware is just below the national average at 24.9 minutes of commute time. Only 2.9 percent of workers in Delaware have what is considered a “super commute” of more than 90 minutes.

That translates to more time for you to spend on the things you like to do.

Commuter Transportation

Most Delawareans drive alone to work. Less than 10 percent carpool and about 6 percent work from home.

Method of Travel201620172018
Drove Alone81%%82%%79.60%
Carpooled8.98%7.12%9%
Worked from Home4.48%5.16%5.69%
Mass Transit2.68%2.23%2.16%

Compare RatesStart Now →

Shorter commutes will give you lots of time to check out the 350 miles of shoreline or grab some world-famous caramel popcorn at Fisher’s.

Traffic Congestion in Delaware

Several different companies, like Inrix, TomTom, and Numbeo, keep data on traffic congestion around the world. Since the average commute in Delaware is below average, there is no data recorded from those companies on traffic congestion in the state. Thankfully, that means that if you live in Delaware, you don’t have to spend all of your commutes fighting traffic.

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Conclusion

Now that we have covered insurance information, traffic laws, and a myriad of statistics about driving in Delaware, you are prepared to make the best choices for your car insurance needs.

Have you looked at the different coverage and discount types? Have you thought about the type of coverage you need?

If you have, then you are ready to take control of your car insurance needs.

Enter your ZIP code here to start getting quotes so that you know you are getting the best deal out there.

References:

  1. https://www.chevrolet.com/trucks/silverado/1500
  2. https://www.nolo.com/legal-encyclopedia/delaware-car-insurance-requirements.html
  3. https://www.insurancejournal.com/news/east/2014/06/26/333018.htm
  4. https://www.naic.org/prod_serv/AUT-PB-15.pdf
  5. https://www.iii.org/article/should-i-purchase-umbrella-liability-policy-0
  6. https://www.iii.org/article/will-my-insurance-cover-renting-car-after-accident
  7. https://www.consumerreports.org/cars-driving/what-to-consider-when-buying-roadside-assistance-plan/
  8. http://www.ambest.com/ratings/index.html
  9. https://www.jdpower.com/business/press-releases/2019-us-auto-insurance-study
  10. https://www.experian.com/blogs/ask-experian/consumer-credit-review/
  11. https://www.equifax.com/personal/credit-report-services/free-credit-reports/
  12. https://www.transunion.com/annual-credit-report
  13. https://insurance.delaware.gov/wp-content/uploads/sites/15/2016/11/AutoGuide-1.pdf
  14. https://www.autoblog.com/2016/05/18/windshield-laws-in-delaware/
  15. https://www.fbi.gov/stats-services/publications/insurance-fraud
  16. https://www.iii.org/article/background-on-insurance-fraud
  17. https://www.nolo.com/legal-encyclopedia/delaware-car-accident-laws.html
  18. https://delcode.delaware.gov/title21/c043/sc01/index.shtml
  19. http://www.weirdfacts.com/en/weird-state-laws/27-weird-delaware
  20. https://www.dhs.gov/real-id-frequently-asked-questions
  21. https://www.dosomething.org/us/facts/11-facts-about-teen-driving
  22. https://www.dmv.de.gov/forms/driver_serv_forms/pdfs/dr_frm_manual.pdf?cache=1582665254492
  23. https://www.iihs.org/topics/older-drivers/license-renewal-laws-table
  24. https://www.dmv.de.gov/
  25. https://www.drivinglaws.org/resources/delaware-reckless-and-careless-driving-laws-and-penalties.htm
  26. https://www.iii.org/article/background-on-no-fault-auto-insurance
  27. https://www.iihs.org/topics/seat-belts/seat-belt-law-table
  28. https://drivinglaws.aaa.com/tag/move-over-law/
  29. https://www.dmv.de.gov/DriverServices/drivers_license/index.shtml?dc=dr_lic_violation
  30. https://ride.guru/cities/wilmington-delaware-united-states-of-america?sa=X&ved=2ahUKEwjP-Mb96e_nAhVrUd8KHVYtC3QQ1i8wH3oECBMQJA
  31. https://ridesharedelaware.org/carpool/
  32. https://deldot.gov/Programs/autonomous-vehicles/index.shtml
  33. https://www.idrivesafely.com/dmv/delaware/laws/dui-and-dwi-laws/
  34. https://www.mpp.org/states/delaware/
  35. https://drivinglaws.aaa.com/tag/distracted-driving/
  36. https://www.geotab.com/the-most-dangerous-highways-in-america/
  37. https://dsp.delaware.gov/wp-content/uploads/sites/118/2019/09/2018-Traffic-Annual-Statistical-Report.pdf