Gianetta Palmer is a writer for CarInsurance101.com, copywriter, and essayist. Her work has appeared in EverydayHealth.com, Healthline, and The Dyrt Magazine. She is the author of Scrunchie-Fried and writes a lot about car insurance in her spare time.

Full Bio →

Written by

Melanie Musson is the fourth generation in her family to work in the insurance industry. She grew up with insurance talk as part of her everyday conversation and has studied to gain an in-depth knowledge of state-specific car insurance laws and dynamics as well as a broad understanding of how insurance fits into every person’s life, from budgets to coverage levels. She also specializes in automa...

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Melanie Musson
Published Insurance Expert

UPDATED: Mar 13, 2020

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident car insurance decisions. Car insurance comparison shopping should be easy. We partner with top car insurance companies. This doesn’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about car insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything car insurance-related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by car insurance experts.

Oregon StatisticsData
Miles of roadway35,999
Vehicles registered3,479,174
State population4,217,737
Most popular vehicleSubaru Outback
Uninsured/Underinsured12.7%
Total driving-related deathsSpeeding Fatalities: 1,172
DUI Fatalities: 1,176
Average annual premiumsLiability $553.43
Collision $212.47
Comprehensive $89.66
Cheapest providersStandard Fire Insurance Co and USAA
Get Your Rates Quote Now

Compare RatesStart Now →

Oregon is located on the west coast just north of California. It is the ninth-largest state, the 27th-most populous state in the U.S, and is known as the Beaver State. It has lots of forests and even hosts volcanoes, many bodies of water, and deserts. Oregon’s land is very diverse, but that doesn’t stop people from making it their home.  Portland, Oregon, is the 26th-largest city in the nation.

If you plan on moving to the Beaver State, you should think about your car insurance. Car insurance costs can change from state to state. If you are not happy with your insurance, you can change the company you are with.

In this guide, we will cover the companies and different costs. We will help you find the best insurance companies for your budget and help you figure out what coverage you need. We are going to answer all the important questions.

Start comparing car insurance rates now by using our FREE tool above.

Table of Contents

Average Oregon Car Insurance Coverage and Rates

If you plan on moving to the Beaver State, you will need to get your insurance coverage up to the state’s standards. In this section, we are going to cover what kind of coverage you need in Oregon and how much the rates will be.

What is Oregon’s car culture?

We are going to go over Oregon’s car culture.

Residents of Oregon prefer more economical cars. Though as more people move to the state, the more luxury cars began to appear. The Smart Fortwo sells more in Oregon than it does in the rest of the country. Other popular cars in the state are Mercedes-Benz B-Class and the Chevrolet Spark; these sell three times more than the national average.

During the 19th century, road construction gained more popularity as more people tried to navigate the terrain. Even now, the state struggles to build roads.

The state has built and rebuilt roads and tried to maintain them, but Oregon faces challenges with its harsh weather.

Oregon is known for having fierce storms, such as mudslides, snow, and torrential rain. The bad weather doesn’t stop any of the residents from driving on the roads.

How much coverage is required for Oregon minimum coverage?

The state of Oregon requires 25/50/20 for liability insurance. Liability insurance covers the costs of damages and injuries to drivers involved in a car accident.

  • $25,000 per person with an aggregate limit
  • $50,000 per accident
  • $20,000 for property damage

You can get more liability coverage; you are only required to have the minimum. If a person is convicted of a DUI, the minimum coverage increases to $50,000 per person with an aggregate limit, $100,000 per accident, and $10,000 for damages.

This coverage does not cover you, you will need to get comprehensive insurance and/or collision insurance. Comprehensive insurance can help you repair or replace your car if it is damaged and has not been in a collision. Collision insurance helps you repair or replace your car if you have been in an accident.

If your insurance company allows the option, you can get an electronic version of your insurance card. You can download a copy of your insurance card from the company website or you can get it on the mobile app. You can show a digital copy of your insurance to other drivers after a wreck, and you can also show it to police officers. Officers are not allowed to look at anything else on your phone other than the insurance card.

What are forms of financial responsibility in Oregon?

You will need proof of financial responsibility if you have insurance. Having financial responsibility in Oregon means you have the required liability insurance. You should carry your insurance card at all times.

How much percentage of income are premiums in Oregon?

During 2012, Oregon residents had an average disposable income of $34,683. The cost of full coverage was $818.07. The cost of car insurance as a percentage of income was 2.36 percent, 0.04 percent higher than the national average during this time.

In 2013, residents had an average disposable income of $34,553, $130 less than the previous year. The cost of full coverage increased to $856.26. Car insurance as a percentage of income increased to 2.48 percent, 0.09 percent more than the national average.

In 2014, residents had a disposable income of $36,445, the highest amount over the three years. The cost of full coverage increased to $894.10. The percent of decreases to 2.45 percent and is 0.16 percent more than the national average.

What are the core coverages in Oregon?

The average for core coverage in Oregon is $957.98. It is $104.25 less than the national average of $1,062.23.

Coverage TypesAverage Annual Costs
Liability$553.43
Collision$212.47
Comprehensive$89.66
Get Your Rates Quote Now

Compare RatesStart Now →

This data comes from the NAIC.

What additional liability is available in Oregon?

If you live in Oregon, you should consider getting additional liability. Personal injury protection (PIP) helps cover the loss of income. There is also medical payment coverage that covers medical and funeral expenses for you and other drivers in an accident.

You can get uninsured motorist coverage to cover you when you are in a car accident with someone with no insurance or involved in a hit and run. You can also get underinsured coverage for when you are in an accident with someone who doesn’t have enough coverage.

Loss Ratio201520142013
Medical Paymentsn/an/an/a
Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage76.5372.7964.68
Personal Injury Protection71.3065.0468.90
Get Your Rates Quote Now

Compare RatesStart Now →

A loss ratio is the total claims paid divided by the total premium received.  A loss ratio under 40 percent is low, meaning a company is collecting more premiums than it needs for claims. A loss ratio over 75 percent is high, meaning a company is not collecting enough premiums for the claims being received.

Oregon has 12.7 percent of uninsured drivers. It is ranked 21st in the nation.

What add-ons, endorsements, and riders are available in Oregon?

Check out these links below and learn more about car insurance.

  • Guaranteed auto protection (GAP)
  • GAP insurance can cover the value of a car’s worth and the financed amount of the vehicle during the accident.
  • Personal umbrella policy (PUP)
  • A PUP policy gives more liability coverage than your insurance limits.
  • Rental reimbursement
  • While your car is being fixed this coverage helps you pay for rental cars.
  • Emergency roadside assistance
  • An emergency service that helps when your cars break down.
  • Mechanical breakdown insurance
  • Mechanical breakdown insurance covers breakdowns that happen unexpectedly.
  • Non-owner car insurance
  • Non-owner insurance is liability insurance for drivers who drive but don’t own a car.
  • Modified car insurance coverage
  • Modified car insurance is for custom cars.
  • Classic car insurance
  • Classic car insurance is for drivers with older antique cars.
  • Pay-as-you-drive or usage-based insurance
  • Pay-as-you-drive determines your rates by how much you drive.

Know what kind of benefits you can have as a car owner. Having more car coverage reduces the risk of having to pay out of pocket for damages and repairs.

Does gender and age affect my car insurance in Oregon?

Your gender and age can affect your insurance rates. If you are young, you are likely going to pay more for insurance. Some states have made laws to prevent this, but Oregon has not. The table below shows rates by gender and age.

CompanyMarried 35-Year-Old FemaleMarried 35-Year-Old MaleMarried 60-Year-Old FemaleMarried 60-Year-Old MaleSingle 17-Year-Old FemaleSingle 17-Year-Old MaleSingle 25-Year-Old FemaleSingle 25-Year-Old Male
Allstate F&C$3,116.60$2,896.79$2,841.32$2,868.61$9,332.73$10,401.52$3,262.94$3,277.55
American Family Mutual$2,304.32$2,304.32$2,054.19$2,054.19$5,697.93$8,930.71$2,304.32$2,413.79
Farmers Ins Co Of OR$2,069.68$2,024.02$1,829.43$1,945.91$8,559.72$8,752.78$2,317.92$2,376.37
Geico$2,392.62$2,311.56$2,226.68$2,240.44$6,189.22$5,642.07$2,548.10$2,200.85
NICOA$2,222.89$2,212.78$1,980.76$2,071.14$5,087.37$6,359.30$2,592.14$2,729.36
Progressive Universal$1,926.67$1,745.84$1,672.83$1,722.85$8,277.50$9,124.21$2,301.66$2,177.58
Safeco Ins Co of OR$2,776.95$2,928.21$2,411.66$2,679.41$8,850.63$9,545.05$2,670.62$2,692.84
Standard Fire Insurance Co$1,887.50$1,902.25$1,699.83$1,768.58$5,296.68$6,424.93$1,969.94$2,002.27
State Farm Mutual Auto$1,618.73$1,618.73$1,481.05$1,481.05$5,136.09$6,447.93$1,836.59$2,105.82
USAA CIC$1,608.07$1,560.55$1,590.69$1,535.96$4,886.29$5,247.50$2,068.24$2,149.86
Get Your Rates Quote Now

Compare RatesStart Now →

Drivers who are 60 years of age pay less than drivers who are 35 or 25. Teens have the highest rates for insurance. With Allstate, insurance for female teens is $9,332.73. The rates are $1,068.79 for teenage males. The company with the lowest rates is USAA, but it is only for the military.

The companies with the best rates for all drivers are State Farm and Standard Fire Insurance.

What are the cheapest rates by ZIP code in Oregon?

You can pay more or less if you live in a certain ZIP code. Car insurance rates can vary by ZIP codes. In the table below are the more expensive ZIP codes.

ZIP CodeGrand Total
97009$4,206.88
97010$4,225.28
97024$4,384.55
97030$4,490.00
97055$4,209.70
97060$4,299.66
97080$4,516.26
97086$4,388.55
97089$4,280.75
97202$4,290.57
97203$4,397.23
97206$4,655.91
97211$4,545.84
97212$4,320.84
97213$4,471.08
97215$4,536.56
97216$4,789.58
97217$4,410.29
97218$4,680.47
97220$4,756.56
97227$4,275.88
97230$4,762.06
97233$4,890.80
97236$4,888.05
97266$4,906.41
Get Your Rates Quote Now

Compare RatesStart Now →

Below are the less expensive ZIP codes.

ZIP CodeGrand Total
97738$2,995.81
97754$2,991.64
97801$2,957.22
97814$2,948.93
97818$2,986.59
97819$2,985.44
97820$2,980.99
97824$2,956.65
97827$2,987.39
97833$2,991.37
97834$2,989.35
97841$2,970.11
97850$2,904.97
97859$2,960.84
97867$2,975.15
97870$2,977.28
97876$2,974.34
97877$2,992.94
97880$2,985.70
97882$2,996.01
97883$2,926.63
97905$2,984.02
97913$2,962.04
97914$2,953.72
97918$2,955.56
Get Your Rates Quote Now

Compare RatesStart Now →

The least expensive ZIP code is 97850.

What are the cheapest rates by city in Oregon?

Car insurance rates not only vary by ZIP code, but also by city. Below are the most expensive cities.

CityAverage Grand Total
Beavercreek$4,099.41
Beaverton$3,970.32
Boring$4,206.88
Bridal Veil$4,225.28
Brightwood$4,125.62
Clackamas$4,198.50
Colton$4,171.91
Corbett$4,111.74
Damascus$4,280.75
Eagle Creek$4,148.77
Estacada$4,135.99
Fairview$4,384.55
Gaston$3,925.77
Gladstone$3,963.50
Gresham$4,503.13
Happy Valley$4,388.55
Marylhurst$3,980.82
Molalla$4,114.99
Mulino$4,089.60
Oregon City$4,035.75
Portland$4,296.40
Rhododendron$4,107.12
Sandy$4,209.70
Troutdale$4,299.66
Welches$4,128.98
Get Your Rates Quote Now

Compare RatesStart Now →

Below are the least expensive cities.

CityAverage Grand Total
Baker City$2,948.93
Boardman$2,986.59
Bridgeport$2,985.44
Canyon City$2,980.99
Cove$2,956.65
Durkee$2,984.02
Elgin$2,987.39
Haines$2,991.37
Halfway$2,989.35
Hines$2,995.81
Imbler$2,970.11
La Grande$2,904.97
Meachham$2,960.84
North Powder$2,975.15
Nyssa$2,962.04
Ontario$2,953.72
Pendleton$2,957.22
Prineville$2,991.64
Richland$2,977.28
Summerville$2,974.34
Sumpter$2,992.94
Ukiah$2,985.70
Umatilla$2,996.01
Union$2,926.63
Vale$2,955.56
Get Your Rates Quote Now

Compare RatesStart Now →

The least expensive city is La Grande.

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Best Oregon Car Insurance Companies

There are a lot of car insurance companies in Oregon. Picking the best one can be hard and take a lot of time. Don’t worry, we helped you with the research. In this section, we will cover which car insurance companies in Oregon are the best. We will look at financial rankings and ratings for car insurance companies.

What are the financial ratings of the largest car insurance companies in Oregon?

In the table below are the financial ratings for the largest car insurance companies. This data comes from A.M. Best. Ratings range from A++ (excellent) to D (poor).

CompanyRating
AllstateA+
American Family Insurance GroupA
Country Insurance & Financial Service GroupA+
Farmers Insurance GroupA
GeicoA++
Liberty Mutual GroupA
Nationwide Corp GroupA+
Progressive GroupA+
State Farm GroupA++
USAA GroupA++
Get Your Rates Quote Now

Compare RatesStart Now →

The companies with the highest financial ratings are Geico, State Farm, and USAA.

Which car insurance companies have the best ratings in Oregon?

Below are the companies with the best ratings. The data from this table comes from J.D. Power. The ratings are based on a 1,000-point scale.

CompanyRanking
Allstate816
American Family825
Farmers818
Geico813
Liberty Mutual792
Nationwide765
Northwest Average816
PEMCO Insurance850
Progressive797
Safeco801
State Farm820
The Hartford833
USAA894
Get Your Rates Quote Now

Compare RatesStart Now →

The best-rated company is USAA. The next best-rated company is Pemco Insurance.

Which car insurance companies have the most complaints in Oregon?

Every company gets complaints and for many different reasons. Here is a list of companies with the most complaints. This data is from 2019.

CompanyComplaints
Allstate Insurance Group334
American Family Insurance Group81
Country Insurance & Financial Service Group2
Farmers Insurance Group1
Geico360
Liberty Mutual Group167
Nationwide Corp Group71
Progressive Group105
State Farm Group1,547
USAA Group277
Get Your Rates Quote Now

Compare RatesStart Now →

The company with the most complaints is State Farm. Farmers has the least complaints. Company complaints do not mean the company is not reputable, as they can get complaints for many different things.

What are the cheapest car insurance companies in Oregon?

We all want to pay less for car insurance. Car insurance can be expensive and depending on where you live, it can increase or decrease your rates. In the table below are the cheapest car insurance companies.

CompanyAverageCompared to State Average 
Allstate F&C$4,749.76$1,302.5827.42%
American Family Mutual$3,507.97$60.791.73%
Farmers Ins Co Of OR$3,734.48$287.307.69%
Geico$3,218.94-$228.24-7.09%
NICOA$3,156.97-$290.21-9.19%
Progressive Universal$3,618.64$171.464.74%
Safeco Ins Co of OR$4,319.42$872.2420.19%
Standard Fire Insurance Co$2,869.00-$578.18-20.15%
State Farm Mutual Auto$2,715.75-$731.44-26.93%
USAA CIC$2,580.90-$866.29-33.57%
Get Your Rates Quote Now

Compare RatesStart Now →

The cheapest insurance in Oregon is USAA, but it is for the military. The next cheapest insurance company is Standard Fire Insurance Company.

Does my commute affect my car insurance rate in Oregon?

Your commute can affect your car insurance rates. If you have a long commute, you can pay more for insurance than if you have a shorter one. Some companies will charge you the same for a long and short commute.

Group10-mile commute. 6,000 annual mileage25-mile commute. 12,000 annual mileage
Allstate$4,749.76$4,749.76
American Family$3,453.60$3,562.34
Farmers$3,734.48$3,734.48
Geico$3,165.82$3,272.06
Liberty Mutual$4,319.42$4,319.42
Nationwide$3,156.97$3,156.97
Progressive$3,618.64$3,618.64
State Farm$2,645.69$2,785.80
Travelers$2,754.32$2,983.68
USAA$2,506.99$2,654.80
Get Your Rates Quote Now

Compare RatesStart Now →

If you have a 10-mile commute or 25-mile commute, you will pay the same rates with Allstate, who charges the most for commutes. USAA has the lowest rates for a 10-mile commute and a 25-mile commute. The cost difference between the two is $147.81. State Farm has the second-lowest rates from both commutes. The cost difference is $131.11.

Can coverage level change my car insurance rate with companies in Oregon?

Below are the rates for high, medium, and low coverage levels.

GroupHighMediumLow
Allstate$4,940.50$4,739.52$4,569.25
American Family$3,323.69$3,241.68$3,008.89
Farmers$4,017.90$3,709.39$3,499.81
Geico$3,465.92$3,601.67$3,490.82
Liberty Mutual$4,598.16$4,308.05$4,052.06
Nationwide$3,220.33$3,234.73$2,956.17
Progressive$3,763.21$3,685.73$3,491.04
State Farm$2,863.31$2,719.79$2,564.14
Travelers$3,063.38$2,853.40$2,690.23
USAA$2,690.90$2,583.40$2,468.39
Get Your Rates Quote Now

Compare RatesStart Now →

USAA has the best rates for different coverage levels, but you cannot use them if you are not in the military or a family member of a military member. If you are not military, State Farm is the best option. It has the lowest rates for all coverage levels. Allstate has the highest rates for all the coverage levels.

State Farm has a $299.17 cost difference between high and low coverage. Allstate’s difference between high and low insurance is $371.25. The company with the largest difference between high and low coverage is Farmers at $546.10.

How does my credit history affect my car insurance rate with companies in Oregon?

Having good credit isn’t just important for shopping or buying a house. If you have good credit, you can pay less for insurance. You can face higher rates if you have poor credit.

GroupGoodFairPoor
Allstate$3,621.66$4,389.68$6,237.94
American Family$2,779.49$3,288.44$4,455.98
Farmers$3,351.28$3,535.79$4,316.37
Geico$2,554.43$3,218.94$3,883.45
Liberty Mutual$2,886.97$3,737.43$6,333.87
Nationwide$2,625.62$3,028.06$3,817.24
Progressive$3,274.88$3,515.16$4,065.88
State Farm$1,935.03$2,419.05$3,793.17
Travelers$2,210.28$2,810.04$3,586.68
USAA$1,719.01$2,157.98$3,865.69
Get Your Rates Quote Now

Compare RatesStart Now →

State Farm has the best rates for good and fair credit scores. Travelers has the best rates for drivers with poor credit. Allstate has the highest rates for good and fair credit scores. Liberty Mutual has the highest rates for drivers with poor credit.

With State Farm, drivers with poor credit pay $1,858.14 more than drivers with good credit. Allstate drivers with poor credit can pay $2,616.28 more than drivers with good credit. Drivers with Liberty Mutual who have poor credit pay more for car insurance than drivers with other companies, paying $3,446.90 more for insurance than drivers with good credit.

How does my driving record affect my rates with car insurance companies in Oregon?

Keeping a clean driving record can reduce your car insurance rates. In the table below are rates based on a driving record that is clean, has one accident, one speeding violation, and one DUI.

GroupClean RecordWith 1 AccidentWith 1 Speeding ViolationWith 1 DUI
Allstate$3,828.80$5,162.22$4,670.30$5,337.70
American Family$2,440.25$3,743.66$3,127.99$4,719.97
Farmers$3,149.22$4,057.67$3,763.01$3,968.02
Geico$2,120.41$3,378.95$2,928.42$4,447.98
Liberty Mutual$3,826.69$4,282.10$4,254.32$4,914.58
Nationwide$2,676.81$2,866.59$3,027.83$4,056.64
Progressive$2,729.50$4,977.18$3,251.19$3,516.70
State Farm$2,408.68$3,145.65$2,654.33$2,654.33
Travelers$2,324.83$2,973.80$2,836.34$3,341.03
USAA$1,874.54$2,616.67$2,194.01$3,638.37
Get Your Rates Quote Now

Compare RatesStart Now →

Drivers with clean driving records have the lowest rates. For non-military drivers, Travelers and State Farm have the lowest rates for having one speeding violation, one accident, and one DUI. With State Farm, the rates for one DUI and one speeding violation are the same. It also has the lowest rates for drivers with a clean record. Allstate has the highest rates for all driving records.

With Allstate, you will pay $1,333.42 more for having one accident, $841.50 more for one speeding violation, and $1,508.90 for one DUI. If you have Travelers you will pay $648.97 more for one accident, $511.51 for one speeding violation, and $1,016.20 for one DUI. If you have State Farm you will pay $736.97 for one accident and $245.65 for one DUI or a speeding violation.

Which car insurance companies are the largest in Oregon?

Some companies are larger than others. Below are the largest car insurance companies in Oregon.

Company Group/group/code Company NameDirect Premiums WrittenLoss RatioMarket Share
Allstate Insurance Group$237,418,00054.12%8.14%
American Family Insurance Group$91,870,00066.64%3.15%
Country Insurance & Financial Service Group$104,849,00058.75%3.60%
Farmers Insurance Group$275,252,00054.10%9.44%
Geico$260,828,00070.56%8.95%
Liberty Mutual Group$261,291,00067.77%8.96%
Nationwide Corp Group$68,651,00071.56%2.35%
Progressive Group$370,678,00062.08%12.71%
State Farm Group$620,489,00059.83%21.28%
USAA Group$164,064,00077.08%5.63%
State Total$2,915,364,00063.23%100.00%
Get Your Rates Quote Now

Compare RatesStart Now →

The largest car insurance company is State Farm. The second-largest company is Progressive.

How many car insurance companies are available in Oregon?

Each state has domestic and foreign insurance companies that provide policies to drivers.

A domestic car insurance company operates in the state, while a foreign insurance company operates out of state but has the license to do business in another state.

Oregon has 18 domestic car insurance companies and 848 foreign car insurance companies.

Oregon Laws

Every state has laws to keep their drivers safe, and the Beaver State is no different. If you are moving to Oregon or live in the state already, you need to make sure you know the laws of the state. In this section, we are going to cover car insurance laws and other laws specific to the state of Oregon. If you are already familiar with the laws, this will be a refresher. If you don’t know the laws, get ready to take notes.

What are the car insurance laws in Oregon?

Oregon has its own laws. Learning the laws can prevent traffic violations in the future.

How State Laws for Insurance are Determined

States determine their own laws for car insurance. Oregon uses a file-and-use system to determine laws. With a file-and-use system, rates and forms must be filed with the state insurance department before its use.

Windshield Coverage

Having a cracked windshield is the worst. In Oregon, insurers can use aftermarket crash parts if the quality is equivalent to the part being replaced. Drivers can pick who they want to repair their windshield.

High-Risk Insurance

If you are a high-risk driver, you might need an SR-22. An SR-22 proves that you have liability insurance. If you are supposed to have an SR-22 and don’t get one, your license will be suspended. This applies even if you do not have a car.

An SR-22 will be required if:

  • You have been convicted of driving without insurance
  • If you are an owner of a vehicle that was uninsured at the time of an accident
  • If you are trying to regain your driving privileges back
  • If you are applying for a hardship or probationary permit

You can check the Oregon DMV to see if you need an SR-22.

Low-Cost Insurance

Oregon does not have a low-cost insurance program. Only California, Hawaii, and New Jersey have these programs.

Automobile Insurance Fraud in Oregon

Car Insurance fraud is illegal. Insurance fraud is the deception against or by an insurance company to get financial gain. Automobile insurance can include mispresenting facts on insurance applications, inflating insurance claims, staging accidents, or filing claims for injuries that did not happen. According to the Insurance Research Council, insurance fraud counted for 15 to 17 percent of claims in 2012.

If you suspect insurance fraud, you can contact the Oregon DMV at:
1905 Lana Ave NE
Salem, OR 97314
Phone: 1-503-945-5000

Statute of Limitations

The statute of limitations is the amount of time you have to file a claim or resolve it with your insurance company. In Oregon, the statute of limitations is two years for personal injury and six years for property damage.

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Oregon-Specific Laws

States can have weird laws. Oregon has a few itself. Some of these laws you may not know.

  • Drivers cannot pump their own gas.
  • Drivers have to yield to pedestrians standing on the sidewalk.
  • Sled riders can not attach themselves to cars.

These are only a few. Check out more Oregon-specific laws here.

What are the vehicle licensing laws in Oregon?

If you are moving to Oregon and have an out-of-state title for your car, you will need to register that car with the state. You will also need a title if you have bought a new car out of state. When you go to the DMV, you will need to bring the following:

  • a completed application for title and registration
  • the out of state title
  • the original odometer disclosure (this may or may not be required)
  • bill of sale from previous owners
  • original lien releases
  • the vehicle ID number
  • a tax certificate if the odometer has less than 7,500 miles
  • the title fee

You can also apply for your title by mail. You will need to do this soon after you move to the state. To get your license plates you will also need to bring the Low Emissions Vehicle requirement, certificate of compliance after passing an emissions test, and your plate and your fee.

If you apply for your plates in the mail, you can get them within two to three weeks. If you apply for your plates at the DMV, you can possibly get them the same day. You will not get your title for three to five weeks after you apply for it.

REAL ID

The REAL ID Act provides minimum security for licenses and prohibits federal agencies from accepting licenses that do not meet the standards.

Oregon has an extension on the REAL ID Act. Drivers will not be issued REAL IDs until July 6, 2020. Residents of Oregon will have the option of getting a REAL ID. You will need one to go through security checkpoints at airports and to get into Federal Agencies.

To apply for a REAL ID you will need proof of your identity, proof of your name, proof of your social security number, and proof of address. Once you get your REAL ID, you will have a gold star in the right corner of your license.

If you do not get a REAL ID, you will need to use your passport to go through security checkpoints in airports and Federal Agencies. You will also still be able to drive, vote, register to vote, and buy alcohol and tobacco.

On October 1, 2020, you will be required to have a REAL ID by the federal government.

Penalties for Driving Without Insurance

You should always have car insurance. It is important, and if you don’t have it, you can be penalized. In Oregon, if you drive without insurance, you can face a fine between $300-$1,000. If you are driving without insurance and you get into an accident, you can get your license suspended for a year. You would need proof of financial responsibility for three years.

Teen Driver Laws

Teens are eager to drive, but there are a few things they have to do before they can get their license or even get behind the wheel. Oregon requires teens to go through stages to get their license.

At 15, teens can apply for their provisional instruction permit. To get their permit, teens and their parents must go to the driver exam office and bring proof of their legal name, their legal presence in the United States, birth certificate, Social Security number, and residency in Oregon.

Teens must pass a written exam and a vision test to get their permit. With a permit, teens can drive with a licensed driver 21 years or older. Permit holders must drive 100 hours or drive 50 hours and complete a traffic safety course before they can get their provisional license.

When teens turn 16 and have had their permit for six months and have completed the necessary driving hours, they can apply for their provisional driver’s license. Teens must pass their driving test, complete a vision test, and provide proof of the necessary driving hours to get their license.

Once teens get their provisional license, they can drive alone, but they cannot drive between midnight and five a.m. The only exceptions are driving to school or coming from work. For the six months, they can drive with only family members in the car unless they are 20 years of age or older.

When teens turn 17 and have had their provisional license for a year, they can get their unrestricted license.

There are no restrictions on an unrestricted license. Parents are encouraged to set rules for their teens.

Older Driver License Renewal Procedures

Older drivers are required to renew their licenses every eight years. Drivers who are 50 and older will need proof of adequate vision at every renewal. Drivers are not permitted to renew their licenses in mail or online.

New Residents

If you are a new resident in Oregon, you have a couple of tasks to complete. You will have 30 days to get an Oregon driver’s license. You also have 30 days to get the title and registration for your car. If you do not do this in 30 days, you can face fees. The fees will increase the longer you take to register your vehicle.

License Renewal Procedures

Drivers must renew their licenses every eight years and do not have to provide proof of adequate vision. The DMV will mail you a notice when your license is about to expire. Drivers cannot renew your license in the mail or online.

Negligent Operator Treatment System (NOTS)

Some states use a point system. A point system is used to penalize drivers when they commit a traffic violation. Points on a driver’s license can affect insurance rates, driving privileges, and other things.

Unlike other states, Oregon does not use a point system. The state records each moving violation on your driving record. A moving violation occurs only when a vehicle is in motion. If you have five violations in two years, you will have your license suspended.

What are the rules of the road in Oregon?

Driving rules can change from state to state. We are going to cover the rules in Oregon.

Fault vs. No-Fault

Oregon uses an at-fault system for financial responsibility in a car accident. With this system, the driver at fault is responsible for the losses caused by the accident. If a driver has damages or injuries from a car accident, there are a few things they can do.

They can file a claim with their insurance company, file a third-party claim with the at-fault driver’s insurance, or file a personal injury lawsuit in civil court with the at-fault driver.

A no-fault system is different. No-fault auto insurance laws require drivers to file claims with their own insurance companies. The amount of coverage varies by state.  Drivers in no-fault states are required to purchase PIP. The no-fault driver system is intended to lower the cost of auto insurance by not letting smaller claims go to court. Drivers in no-fault states may sue for severe injuries.

Seat Belt and Car Seat Laws

Wearing your seat belt is important. You should be sure to wear your seat belt to avoid fines. In Oregon, all passengers eight and older who are taller than 4 feet 9 inches are to wear a seat belt. Children under two must be in a rear-facing seat. Children seven or younger must be in a child seat. The fine for a seat belt violation is $115.

Riding in the cargo area of a pickup truck is not permitted for people under the age of 18 unless they have a restraint.

Keep Right and Move Over Laws

When you are driving slower than the rest of the traffic, you should keep right. If you are near a stationary vehicle with warning or flashing lights you should move to the next lane or reduce your speed.

Speed Limits

You should always be aware of the speed limit to avoid traffic violations.

RoadSpeed Limit
Rural65
Urban55
Limited access roads65
Other roads65
Get Your Rates Quote Now

Compare RatesStart Now →

On rural roads, the speed limit can be 55-70 mph on specified segments.

Ridesharing

If you are a rideshare driver or plan on becoming one, you should get rideshare insurance. Oregon has two ridesharing services, Uber and Lyft.

There are different periods of ridesharing that are covered by insurance.

  • Period One — you’re online with no request
  • Period Two — you’re online and have a request and are waiting for your rider or going to get them.
  • Period Three — you’re online and you have a passenger in your car.

As a rideshare driver, Uber and Lyft only cover you during periods two and three. During period one is when rideshare insurance would be most useful; the two rideshare companies don’t cover you during this time.

With rideshare insurance, you can avoid paying the $1,000 collision deductible from Uber and the $2,500 collision deductible from Lyft. A rideshare insurance policy will cover you during period one.

In Oregon, State Farm, USAA, American Family Insurance, and Farmers provide insurance for rideshare drivers. State Farm offers gap coverage for you as a rideshare driver that extends to your personal policies. State Farm’s rideshare insurance can provide the same amount of coverage for all three periods. USAA provides rideshare insurance during period one. You will not be dropped for telling them you are a rideshare driver.

Farmers offers a rideshare-friendly policy that covers you during period one. You won’t be dropped for telling them you are a rideshare driver. You will need to rely on Uber and Lyft for periods two and three.

Automation on the Road

Automation is when technology is used to perform driving tasks. If you have a car that uses a rear-view camera or if your car can brake by itself, your car is using automation. Automation can involve radars, cameras, and other sensors. There are different levels of automation that start from Level 0 to Level 5.

  • Level 0 — The driver operates the vehicle.
  • Level 1 — The vehicle can assist the driver with a driving task.
  • Level 2 — The vehicle can perform one or more tasks and the driver must monitor.
  • Level 3 — The vehicle can perform all driving tasks without the driver, but the driver must intervene if there is a failure.
  • Level 4 — The vehicle can perform all the driving tasks and only needs the driver in certain conditions.
  • Level 5 — The vehicle can perform all the driving tasks.

Oregon does not currently have laws for automated vehicles.

What are the safety laws in Oregon?

Oregon has many laws to keep its drivers safe. We are going to over DUI laws and distracted driving laws in the Beaver State and the penalties that can follow.

DUI Laws

You should never drive under the influence of alcohol — if you do, there will be consequences. Oregon is 0.1 percent less than the national average of 3.4 for alcohol-impaired driving fatalities per 100,000 population.

Below are the penalties for driving under the influence.

PenaltyFirst OffenseSecond OffenseThird Offense
Community Service80 hours community service (or jail time)NoNo
FineMin $1000 for BAC; min $2000 for HBAC; up $10000 if child in carMin $1500; HBAC min $2000; up to $10000 if child in car$2000 min, additional $2000 for HBAC
Jail Time2 days - 1 year (or community service)Minimum 2 days, but up to 1 year90 day minimum
License Suspension/Revocation1 year3 yearsMandatory lifetime, not elegible for hardhsip license, may apply for reinstatement after 10 years
OtherDrug and alcohol program, participation in victim impact panel, IID for 1 year after license suspensionIID for 2 years after suspenion, treatment program and victim impact panelNo
Get Your Rates Quote Now

Compare RatesStart Now →

To be charged with a DUI, your BAC has to be 0.08. Oregon has had 14,390 arrests for DUIs. The Beaver State ranks number 17 in the United States for DUI arrests.

Marijuana-Impaired Driving Laws

Marijuana is legal in Oregon, but drivers shouldn’t get behind the wheel if they are under the influence of marijuana. Below are the penalties for driving under the influence.

OffenseJailFineLicense RevocationOther
1st Offense2 days - 1 year OR 80 hours community serviceMin $1000 for BAC; min $2000 for HBAC; up $10000 if child in car1 yearDrug and alcohol program, participation in victim impact panel
2nd OffenseMinimum 2 days, but up to 1 yearMin $1500; HBAC min $2000; up to $10000 if child in car3 yearsTreatment program and victim impact panel
3rd Offense90 day minimum$2000 min, additional $2000 for HBACMandatory lifetime, not eligible for hardship license, may apply for reinstatement after 10 yearsNo
Get Your Rates Quote Now

Compare RatesStart Now →

If you have a fourth offense, it will be a felony.

Distracted Driving Laws

Sometimes drivers are guilty of not completely keeping their eyes on the road. Distracted driving can cause accidents that lead to injuries or fatalities. In 2015, 3,477 people were killed as a result of distracted driving. Distracted driving doesn’t have to be texting and driving. It can be eating and driving or looking down to turn the knob on the radio. Anytime your eyes are not one the road, you are a distracted driver.

In Oregon, no driver is allowed to have their cellphone in their hands while driving. Drivers are also prohibited from texting and driving. Texting and/or having your phone in your hand while temporarily stopped in traffic or at a traffic light is also prohibited. Drivers under the age of 18 are not allowed to use a cellphone while driving.

Driving in Oregon

In this section, we are going to cover driving in Oregon. We will go over traffic fatalities, traffic congestion, vehicle thefts, and EMS response times.

How many vehicle thefts occur in Oregon?

Motor vehicle thefts occur, and they can happen anywhere.

RankMake/ModelYear of VehicleThefts
1Honda Accord19941,491
2Honda Civic19981,276
3Subaru Legacy1998377
4Ford Pickup (Full Size)2004295
5Toyota Camry1990221
6Chevrolet Pickup (Full Size)1999217
7Acura Integra1994209
8Subaru Impreza1999171
9Honda CR-V1999158
10Jeep Cherokee/Grand Cherokee1994141
Get Your Rates Quote Now

Compare RatesStart Now →

The vehicle with the most thefts is the Honda Accord. According to the FBI, in 2017, Portland had 7,295 motor vehicle thefts.  Hubbard has had the least amount of thefts. Other than Hubbard, in 2017, each city had at least one motor vehicle theft.

How many road fatalities occur in Oregon?

Fatalities can be caused by driving carelessly. You should always aim to drive safely to avoid fatalities. We are going to cover how many fatal accidents occur in Oregon.

Most Fatal Highway in Oregon

The most fatal highway in Oregon is U.S. Route 101. The most dangerous highways are determined by fatal crash rates and the number of fatalities on the road along with fatal crashes.

Fatal Crashes by Weather Condition and Light Condition

Fatal crashes can occur if it’s raining or if it’s sunny outside. Below are fatal crashes by the weather.

Weather ConditionDaylightDark, but LightedDarkDawn or DuskOther / UnknownTotal
Normal1804261123298
Rain1714241056
Snow/Sleet10030013
Other4251012
Unknown9090321
Total22058102146400
Get Your Rates Quote Now

Compare RatesStart Now →

In Oregon, most fatalities occurred while it was daylight with normal weather. The least amount of fatalities occurred for unknown reasons.

Fatalities (All Crashes) by County

Below are the fatalities by county.

County20142015201620172018
Baker56748
Benton569126
Clackamas3827442940
Clatsop35131210
Columbia38457
Coos1197129
Crook14257
Curry43102
Deschutes1313242116
Douglas2731162331
Gilliam00421
Grant02320
Harney535313
Hood River12314
Jackson1725342433
Jefferson106989
Josephine1324241920
Klamath1115141710
Lake02305
Lane4557453348
Lincoln8715138
Linn1626181627
Malheur35785
Marion2524374035
Morrow35433
Multnomah2841555850
Polk1015131016
Sherman12104
Tillamook573312
Umatilla121114516
Union18434
Wallowa50212
Wasco5310107
Washington1628302127
Wheeler01041
Yamhill715141210
Get Your Rates Quote Now

Compare RatesStart Now →

Multnomah County has the highest fatality numbers. Wheeler County has had the least fatalities. The most fatalities in Multnomah occurred in 2017. Lane County has had the second-most fatalities. The most fatalities for Lane County occurred in 2015.

Traffic Fatalities

In the table below are the traffic fatalities.

Location2009201020112012201320142015201620172018
Rural292216217229199237282309237328
Urban85101114108114120163189202178
Unknown0000001000
Total Fatalities377317331337313357446498439506
Get Your Rates Quote Now

Compare RatesStart Now →

The most fatalities occurred in 2018. Rural areas have the most fatalities. During 2013, the least amount of fatalities occurred in rural and urban areas.

Fatalities by Person Type

Below are fatalities by person type.

ZIP CodeCityAverageAllstate P&CGeico GeneralSafeco Ins Co of ILNationwide P&CProgressive Gulf InsState Farm Mutual AutoTravelers Home & Marine Ins CoUSAA
39759Starkville$3,077.33 $4,662.83 $3,101.32 $3,806.80 $2,410.97 $3,073.49 $2,426.04 $3,357.57 $1,779.61
39701Columbus$3,158.94 $4,286.97 $3,494.31 $3,806.80 $2,410.97 $3,396.99 $2,813.08 $3,334.16 $1,728.25
39743Crawford$3,180.23 $4,286.97 $3,494.31 $3,806.80 $2,410.97 $3,403.02 $2,573.26 $3,578.39 $1,888.14
39769Sturgis$3,196.85 $4,562.00 $3,101.32 $3,806.80 $2,410.97 $4,005.00 $2,466.06 $3,334.50 $1,888.14
39766Steens$3,208.63 $4,286.97 $3,494.31 $3,806.80 $2,410.97 $3,824.18 $2,818.20 $3,139.46 $1,888.14
39776Woodland$3,220.89 $4,286.97 $3,484.78 $4,194.64 $2,956.33 $3,073.13 $2,530.20 $3,317.33 $1,923.75
39750Maben$3,228.95 $4,387.80 $4,046.98 $3,806.80 $2,410.97 $3,652.49 $2,462.43 $3,175.99 $1,888.14
39741Cedarbluff$3,231.09 $4,662.83 $3,615.39 $3,806.80 $2,956.33 $3,157.21 $2,550.46 $3,175.99 $1,923.75
38849Guntown$3,237.09 $4,645.52 $3,484.78 $4,018.35 $2,376.76 $3,612.02 $2,683.71 $3,122.51 $1,953.10
38804Tupelo$3,239.30 $4,645.52 $3,484.78 $4,018.35 $2,376.76 $3,849.45 $2,616.13 $2,999.66 $1,923.75
39702Columbus$3,243.42 $4,286.97 $3,494.31 $3,806.80 $2,410.97 $3,865.86 $2,900.26 $3,294.02 $1,888.14
38878Vardaman$3,246.01 $4,286.97 $3,379.63 $4,194.64 $2,956.33 $3,338.05 $2,571.36 $3,317.33 $1,923.75
39710Columbus$3,246.30 $4,286.97 $3,494.31 $3,806.80 $2,410.97 $3,979.90 $2,749.21 $3,354.13 $1,888.14
38824Baldwyn$3,247.35 $4,645.52 $3,484.78 $4,018.35 $2,376.76 $3,739.79 $2,653.75 $3,122.51 $1,937.35
39773West Point$3,249.13 $4,662.83 $3,615.39 $3,806.80 $2,956.33 $3,462.65 $2,658.13 $2,907.15 $1,923.75
38866Saltillo$3,251.39 $4,645.52 $3,484.78 $4,018.35 $2,376.76 $3,806.47 $2,635.76 $3,106.15 $1,937.35
38821Amory$3,253.21 $4,286.97 $3,494.31 $4,194.64 $2,956.33 $3,474.09 $2,533.65 $3,161.95 $1,923.75
39705Columbus$3,257.98 $4,286.97 $3,494.31 $3,806.80 $2,410.97 $4,168.87 $2,813.54 $3,354.13 $1,728.25
38801Tupelo$3,258.36 $4,645.52 $3,484.78 $4,018.35 $2,376.76 $3,757.05 $2,646.87 $3,213.84 $1,923.75
39755Pheba$3,261.14 $4,387.80 $3,615.39 $3,806.80 $2,956.33 $3,665.32 $2,557.77 $3,175.99 $1,923.75
38841Ecru$3,265.32 $4,388.22 $3,484.78 $4,194.64 $2,376.76 $3,612.02 $2,562.22 $3,550.86 $1,953.10
39730Aberdeen$3,269.64 $4,286.97 $3,494.31 $4,194.64 $2,956.33 $3,562.27 $2,624.64 $3,114.26 $1,923.75
38826Belden$3,272.51 $4,645.52 $3,484.78 $4,194.64 $2,376.76 $3,748.01 $2,620.30 $3,156.96 $1,953.10
38856Marietta$3,274.20 $4,645.52 $3,484.78 $4,318.54 $2,376.76 $3,604.50 $2,761.22 $3,122.51 $1,879.74
39756Prairie$3,274.33 $4,286.97 $3,494.31 $4,194.64 $2,956.33 $3,655.04 $2,569.39 $3,114.26 $1,923.75
Get Your Rates Quote Now

Compare RatesStart Now →

The person type with the highest fatalities are passenger cars. In 2016, passenger cars had 182  fatalities. The number decreases from 2017 to 2018. Person types involving buses have the lowest fatalities — buses had zero fatalities from 2014 to 2018.

Fatalities by Crash Type

Certain crash types will have more fatalities than others. In the table below, you will see the fatalities by crash type.

Crash Type20142015201620172018
Single Vehicle220280266253280
Involving a Large Truck3253565471
Involving Speeding105119143170110
Involving a Rollover901099593100
Involving a Roadway Departure228278309280285
Involving an Intersection (or Intersection Related)7190876988
Total Fatalities (All Crashes)*357446498439506
Get Your Rates Quote Now

Compare RatesStart Now →

Crashes involving an intersection have the most fatalities. Crashes involving a large truck have the least fatalities. In 2018, fatalities for all crash types were at its highest, and 2014 was fatalities amount were at it’s lowest.

Five-Year Trend For the Top 10 Counties

Below you’ll see the five-year trend.

County20142015201620172018
Clackamas County3827442940
Deschutes County1313242116
Douglas County2731162331
Jackson County1725342433
Josephine County1324241920
Lane County4557453348
Linn County1626181627
Marion County2524374035
Multnomah County2841555850
Washington County1628302127
Top Ten Counties238298327285327
Get Your Rates Quote Now

Compare RatesStart Now →

Multnomah County has had the most fatalities over the five years. The fatalities in this county increase, then decrease in 2018. Deschutes County has the lowest fatalities over the five years. The fatalities in this county increase in 2016 and decreases in 2017 and 2018.

During 2016 and 2018, fatalities were the highest for all the top 10 counties combined. In 2014, the combined fatalities for the top 10 counties combined were the lowest.

Fatalities Involving Speeding by County

Sometimes we are in a rush and need to get places faster, and because of this, we all can be guilty of speeding. Speeding is dangerous and can lead to crashes that can cause injuries and fatalities. Below are the fatalities by speeding.

County20142015201620172018
Baker10011
Benton20150
Clackamas95171712
Clatsop10872
Columbia12330
Coos30374
Crook12142
Curry10100
Deschutes78563
Douglas58487
Gilliam00000
Grant01120
Harney12021
Hood River00101
Jackson771185
Jefferson11114
Josephine69884
Klamath48792
Lake00100
Lane12171199
Lincoln32141
Linn31258
Malheur31240
Marion3713139
Morrow10002
Multnomah121516227
Polk25322
Sherman00003
Tillamook13017
Umatilla53116
Union12300
Wallowa30110
Wasco22571
Washington25994
Wheeler01011
Yamhill22332
Get Your Rates Quote Now

Compare RatesStart Now →

Lake County has had the least fatalities by speeding. Multnomah County has had the most fatalities by speeding.

Fatalities in Crashes Involving an Alcohol-Impaired Driver by County

When diving under the influence, you don’t just put yourself at harm, but others, also. You can cause a fatality. In the table below are the fatalities by alcohol-impaired drivers.

County20142015201620172018
Baker13113
Benton10433
Clackamas911181414
Clatsop01351
Columbia13212
Coos33145
Crook03132
Curry21000
Deschutes62785
Douglas65459
Gilliam00010
Grant01110
Harney32000
Hood River02102
Jackson89121012
Jefferson24146
Josephine3151096
Klamath47652
Lake00200
Lane122012816
Lincoln23421
Linn46434
Malheur01431
Marion49102014
Morrow22011
Multnomah818171519
Polk18343
Sherman01000
Tillamook01013
Umatilla41616
Union12113
Wallowa40101
Wasco01312
Washington461176
Wheeler00030
Yamhill13341
Get Your Rates Quote Now

Compare RatesStart Now →

Multnomah County has had the most alcohol-impaired fatalities, Gilliam County has had the least.

Teen Drinking and Driving

Teens get arrested for drinking and driving. Below are the statistics for teen DUIs.

Teens and Drunk DrivingStats
Alcohol-Impaired Driving Fatalities Per 100k Population1.5
DUI Arrest (Under 18 years old)108
DUI Arrests (Under 18 years old) Total Per Million People124.32
U.S. Rank16
Get Your Rates Quote Now

Compare RatesStart Now →

The United States has a national average of 1.2 per 100,000 population for alcohol-impaired fatalities under 21. Oregon’s average is 1.5, which is 0.3 more than the national average. Oregon is ranked 16th for the most teen DUIs.

EMS Response Time

In the table below are the EMS response times in Oregon. The response times are in minutes. This data is from 2017.

LocationTime of CrashEMS Notification to ArrivalEMS Arrival at Scene to Hospital ArrivalTime of Crash to Hospital
Rural3.6713.8540.2953.96
Urban1.85 6.1727.6733.66
Get Your Rates Quote Now

Compare RatesStart Now →

EMS responds quicker to urban areas than to rural ones. It takes emergency vehicles an hour to reach hospitals if they are responding to a crash that is in a rural area. It takes a little more than 30 minutes for the EMS to reach the hospital if responding to urban areas.

What is transportation like in Oregon?

Residents of the Beaver State have a lot of ways they like to get around. We are going to look at how many cars are owned per household, average commute times, and types of transportation.

Car Ownership

Most residents of Oregon have two cars. The average for households with two cars is 40.6 percent. There is 21.4 percent of households with three cars and 20.2 with one car. The average for households with four cars is 9.2 percent. The average with five cars or more cars is 5.51 percent and with no cars, 3.14 percent.

Most residents of the United States have two cars.

The Oregon average is only 0.3 more than the national average.

Commute Time

The average commute time in Oregon is 22 minutes. The average commute for the United States is 25.7 minutes; the Oregon commute times is 3.7 minutes less. Only 1.85 percent of drivers have a 90-minute commute. Less than 3 percent of drivers have less than a five-minute commute.

The states surrounding Oregon have higher commute times. The average commute time for California is 28 minutes. The average commute time for Washington is 26.5 minutes.

Commuter Transportation

In Oregon, 71.7 percent of drivers drive alone. The average of residents that carpooled is 9.48 percent, and the average of residents that work for home is 7.46 percent.

The percentage of drivers who drove alone stayed the same from 2017 to 2018. The average of residents that carpooled decreased from 2017 to 2018. The average of people who worked from home increased from 2017 to 2018.

Public transportation is slightly declining. Motorcycle use has declined from 2017 to 2018 by 0.459 percent.

Traffic Congestion in Oregon

Being in traffic is no fun, and it can make your commute longer. Portland is the 70th-most congested city in the world, ranked 10th in the United States. In 2018, drivers in Portland spent 116 hours in congestion. The cost of congestion is $1,625.

The table shows peak times for Portland.

Time of DaySpeed
Peak21.15 mph
Off Peak35.31 mph
Free Flow42.44 mph
Get Your Rates Quote Now

Compare RatesStart Now →

The congestion level in Portland is 26 percent. The congestion level is up 2 percent from 2018. In 2019, the best day to travel was December 25. The congestion level was at its lowest, 3 percent. The worst day to travel was December 19, when the congestion level was at its highest, 41 percent.

The table shows the congestion for highways and non-highways.

Time of DayCongestion Level
Morning37%
Evening58%
Highway27%
Non-Highway25%
Get Your Rates Quote Now

Compare RatesStart Now →

In 2019, drivers spent 112 hours in traffic, which is equal to four days and 16 hours.

Drivers spend 11 extra minutes in traffic per 30-minute trip. During the evening, drivers spend 17 extra minutes in traffic per 30-minute trip.

The worse time to travel is Thursday between 5 p.m. and 6 p.m. The congestion level is 64 percent. Other times to avoid are Monday through Friday from 7 to 8 a.m., and 3 to 6 p.m. From 7 p.m. to 5 a.m are the best times to drive because congestion is low. Saturday and Sunday have the lowest congestion level and are the best days to travel.

Below is the traffic index for Portland.

TypeIndex
Traffic148.52
Time (in minutes)33.22
Inefficiency161.52
Get Your Rates Quote Now

Compare RatesStart Now →

The traffic index is the composite index of the time consumed in traffic. The time index is the time needed to transport in minutes. The inefficiency index is an estimation of inefficiencies in traffic.

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Conclusion

This is the end of our guide, and we hope you learned a lot. Now you can be a better driver with great insurance. What was the most helpful part of our guide?

Start comparing insurance rates now by using our free tool below.