Free Car Insurance Comparison
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
UPDATED: Mar 20, 2020
It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.
Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We partner with top insurance providers. This doesn't influence our content. Our opinions are our own.
Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about car insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything car insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by car insurance experts.
|Minnesota Statistics Summary||Details|
|Miles of Roadway||138,767|
|Number of Vehicles Registered||5,032,709|
|Most Popular Vehicle||Ford F-150|
|Percent Uninsured||11.5% (Ranked 27th in the USA)|
|Driving Related Fatalities||Total – 381 |
Speeding Fatalities – 113
DUI Fatalities – 105
|Annual Average Premiums||Liability – $466.75|
Collision – $244.98
Comprehensive – $188.95
|Cheapest Providers||State Farm Mutual Auto (118.36% Below State Average)|
USAA CIC (57.73% Below State Average)
Let’s be honest: moving or even traveling can be a hassle. It may be vacation time, your family is running around, reservations have been made, and you’re trying not to leave anyone home.
So, why add to that with worries about car insurance? It seems like a pretty ancillary topic when you’re gearing up to head to the Bahamas. It’s convoluted, but it’s also extremely important.
The truth is, sometimes we all face what we feel are worst-case-scenarios, like one’s car breaking down on a highway. In those situations, it’s best to know that we’ll be taken care of and not left hung out to dry.
Fortunately, if you’re traveling or moving to the beautiful state of Minnesota, you won’t have to worry. It’s a beautiful state with 151,816 employment establishments, so if you’re looking for work, you have options. And its employment percentage is increasing.
Or maybe you’re traveling to see where they shot films such as Fargo (1996), A Simple Plan (1998), North Country (2005), and A Prairie Home Companion (2006).
Together, we’ll go through the multitude of options you have to take the stress of automobile-related inconveniences off your mind, no matter why you’re going to Minnesota.
We’re going to go quickly through this, trust me. Car Insurance, or any insurance for that matter, can be complicated. We’re going to show you how easy it can be to find the right policy for you.
To top it off, you won’t have to do any research because we’ve done it all for you. Without further ado, here’s Minnesota car insurance.
Enter your ZIP code in our quote comparison tool to find the best rates.
Minnesota Car Insurance Coverage & Rates
To save you money, we’ll cover the cheapest rates not just by ZIP code, but also by city. We’re going to find out if factors such as gender or age will affect your premiums in Minnesota.
We’ll go into core coverages that are provided, then move into additional liability coverage that may be available for you. Furthermore, we’ll discuss what potential special add-ons will be available should you feel so inclined and meet the criteria.
We’ll find out what coverage the state of Minnesota requires of its drivers and, in a worst-case scenario, what forms of financial responsibility you’ll need in the case of an accident.
How much coverage is required for Minnesota minimum coverage?
The car insurance laws of Minnesota require all drivers to possess and be able to present proof of liability insurance upon registering their vehicles. The minimum requirements are:
- $30,000 for bodily injury to or death of one individual and $60,000 for any one accident.
- $40,000 for personal injury protection in any one accident.
- $10,000 for injury to the property of others in any one accident.
Driving a vehicle without maintaining this minimum requirement is illegal. The penalties could include license suspension, a maximum of 90 days in jail and fines up to $1,000.
Get insurance to avoid these hassles and avoid further financial setbacks.
The penalties could include license suspension, a maximum of 90 days in jail and fines up to $1,000.
Responsibility is important, not just for yourself and your family, but for others as well. Furthermore, no one needs these fines and jail time, especially considering the fact that avoiding them only requires a little forethought.
Do gender & age affect my car insurance in Minnesota?
We pooled data based on Minnesota residents’ actual purchased coverage.
It includes high-risk driver rates and the rates of drivers who have purchased coverage greater than the state minimum as well as other forms of coverage that aren’t required, such as uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage or PIP.
|Company||Single 17-Year-Old Female||Single 17-Year-Old Male||Single 25-Year-Old Female||Single 25-Year-Old Male||Married 35-Year-Old Female||Married 35-Year-Old Male||Married 60-Year-Old Female||Married 60-Year-Old Male|
|American Family Mutual||$6,086.73||$8,812.61||$2,233.79||$2,519.05||$2,233.79||$2,233.79||$2,025.26||$2,025.26|
|Illinois Farmers Ins||$5,820.43||$5,872.48||$2,672.81||$2,612.21||$2,041.64||$2,038.65||$1,965.24||$2,076.17|
According to the Minnesota Department of Public Safety, insurance industry statistics show that individuals of different age and gender demographics have differing accident rates.
Teens and the elderly are subject to higher insurance rates due to the increased likelihood of filed claims.
Insurance industry statistics show that individuals of different age and gender demographics have differing accident rates.
In the table above, this is most pointedly demonstrated when looking at single, 17-year-old females and single 17-year-old males. In comparison to the remainder of the table, these two columns, by and large, have the highest rates.
If one were to calculate the differences between the columns alone, they would still see that males pay more than females no matter what company one uses — sometimes even as much as 150 percent of what females are paying.
What are the cheapest rates by ZIP code in Minnesota?
This table shows the 25 most expensive ZIP codes in Minnesota for car insurance. Notice that every last ZIP code is within the Twin Cities.
|ZIP Code||City||Average||Allstate Indemnity||American Family Mutual||Illinois Farmers Ins||Geico General||Liberty Mutual Fire||AMCO Insurance||State Farm Mutual Auto||USAA CIC|
The following table shows the 25 ZIP codes with the least expensive car insurance rates. Notice that none of these ZIP codes are within the Twin Cities.
|ZIP Code||City||Average||Allstate Indemnity||American Family Mutual||Illinois Farmers Ins||Geico General||Liberty Mutual Fire||AMCO Insurance||State Farm Mutual Auto||USAA CIC|
In fact, out of the whopping 894 ZIP codes in Minnesota, one would have to go all the way up to number 416 to find Minneapolis and number 390 to find Saint Paul.
What are the cheapest rates by city in Minnesota?
Minneapolis and Saint Paul are densely populated, so it should come as no surprise that they arrive in the most expensive spots in this top 25 listing.
|South Saint Paul||$4,994.42|
At the bottom of this “most expensive” list is Pierz, with a population of only 1,363. That’s quite a disparity, and it goes to show just how much of Minnesota’s population resides within the Twin Cities.
This list of the cheapest 25 cities in Minnesota shows cities with all fairly comparable rates. In fact, the numerical difference between number one and number 25 is only $71.58.
What are the forms of financial responsibility in Minnesota?
According to the Insurance Information Institute, it’s of the utmost importance to remember to record for your own records and exchange the following in the case of an auto collision:
- Full name and contact information
- Insurance company and policy number (Note: Minnesota allows electronic ID cards)
- Driver’s license and license plate numbers
- Type, color and model of vehicle
- Location of accident
So if everyone is in good health and still at the scene, it’s time to deal with the financial side of things.
Minnesota has mandatory liability and no-fault insurance proof requirements. No-fault essentially means that each individual’s ensuing medical bills are their own to pay.
So if you plan to operate an automobile in Minnesota, you’re really going to want insurance. Without it, you could be stuck with severe medical bills to tag along with the pain you’re feeling.
How much percentage of income are premiums in Minnesota?
Here’s the thing: we only make so much money in a year. Most of us don’t want a large chunk of that money to go to insurance. We want it to go to Target trips, vacations, and groceries, right?
Let’s start with the national average for full coverage in 2014. It was $981.77 for full coverage, which is 2.4 percent of the average salary of $40,859. Some states raise that average, such as New York and Arizona, as well as states that lower it, such as North Dakota and South Dakota.
So, where does Minnesota fall on the chart?
|States||Full Coverage 2014||Disposable Income 2014||Insurance as % of Income 2014|
|District of Columbia||$1,324.39||$59,936.00||2.21%|
It’s actually on the cheaper side. If we were to go through it state by state, most to least expensive, Minnesota would fall at 40 out of 50.
Now, like the national average, that percentage has increased from 2012 to 2013. The good news is that it appears to be holding. The following are the actual figures:
|Year||Full Coverage Amount||Annual Income||Percentage of Income|
It appears that coverage costs are going through natural inflation rate changes. Every percentage point counts. We would all rather have 2.01 percent of our income go to auto insurance than 2.43 percent, right?
The key takeaway is that Minnesota is on the cheaper side.
If you’d like to calculate what percentage of your income is going to insurance, use the following tool:
What are the core coverages in Minnesota?
The following is a table illustrating the average cost of car insurance for various states in comparison to Minnesota. Note that some states have been omitted for the sake of brevity.
|State||Average Annual Car Insurance|
As you can see, the state with the cheapest average car insurance rates is Maine at $805. The state with the highest average car insurance rates is Michigan at $2,476. The national average is $1,311.
Minnesota falls somewhere along the middle. To be exact, it would be ranked 29th out of 51 (50 states and the District of Columbia), with an average of $1,222.
If an annual average of $1,222 still sounds high, keep in mind that not only is Minnesota on the lower side of the national average, but with the help of a local agency and a clean driving record, one can pay a lower average.
The following premium averages were pulled from the NAIC database. The figures are the averages for the years 2011 to 2015.
|Coverage Type||Minnesota Average Premiums||Countrywide Average Premiums|
Outside of comprehensive average premiums, Minnesota is below the national average in every category.
What additional liability is available in Minnesota?
A high loss ratio indicates the carrier isn’t gaining enough income in premiums to cover the claims being submitted by their clients. In layman’s terms, a high loss ratio means the insurance company isn’t making enough money.
High loss ratios don’t necessarily mean your insurance company is going bankrupt right off the bat. Now if the insurance company posts a high loss ratio for several years in a row, the future won’t look so bright.
A high loss ratio could indicate an impending price hike. A low loss ratio is the inverse of the high loss ratio, of course, in that the company is gaining far more from premiums than they are spending on claims.
A general rule of thumb is anything below 40 percent is too low and 75 percent is too high.
|Year||Personal Injury Protection Loss Ratio||Medical Payments Loss Ratio||Uninsured/ Underinsured Loss Ratio|
The uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage limits are listed below.
- Uninsured motorist coverage – 25/50 limits
- Underinsured motorist coverage – 25/50 limits
- Percentage of uninsured and rank – 11.5 percent (27th)
What add-ons, endorsements, & riders are available in Minnesota?
Just in case you wanted to further ensure the security of yourself and your family during your trip, here are several additional insurance policies you can have in place.
- Guaranteed auto protection (GAP) – A policy that pays the difference between what your car’s actual cash value is and the amount owed on the lease at the time of the accident.
- Personal umbrella policy (PUP) – A form of personal liability insurance that protects one from lawsuits in situations that they’ll be held responsible for. A primary example of such a situation is a car accident.
- Rental reimbursement – A pre-determined amount you decided will be paid by the insurance company throughout the time is required to repair or replace the vehicle. Or, in rarer circumstances where it takes an abnormal amount of time to repair or replace the vehicle, payments will end when the policy limits are reached.
- Emergency roadside assistance – Coverage that is extremely useful in unfortunate and sometimes unavoidable situations such as running out of gas, a dead car battery, needing your car to be towed, and locking yourself out of your car.
- Mechanical breakdown insurance – Coverage for non-accident related car repairs.
- Non-owner car insurance – If you neither own nor lease a vehicle yet still occasionally drive, this additional option provides you with limited liability coverage. For instance, this would come in handy if you were to borrow a friend or family member’s vehicle.
- Modified car insurance coverage – Coverage specifically for modified vehicles to cover difficult-to-obtain parts
- Classic car insurance – Coverage specifically for vintage vehicles.
- Pay-as-you-drive or usage-based insurance – Coverage where premiums are based on the number of miles you put on your vehicle within a time frame. This is optimal coverage for an individual who seldom uses their vehicle.
Best Minnesota Car Insurance Companies
No one will tell you that finding the right company to get the cheapest car insurance will be either easy or the most fun way to spend a weekend. What we can tell you is that we’re here to simplify the procedure.
We all want to save money, certainly on insurance, which is why we’ve made it easy for you to find the right one for yourself by entering your ZIP code at the top of the page. Before you do that, though, you need to know what to look for.
What follows is a rundown on just that, what you should be looking for. We’re going to talk about customer satisfaction ratings — very important.
We’re going to talk about how well these insurance companies are doing and how secure they’ll be if you decide to choose them. Together, we’ll see if your credit history, chosen coverage level, driving record, and even your commute will affect your rate.
Alright, let’s get started saving money. The following video comes from Quadrant. It shows an overview of comparison shopping.
There is a lot to keep in mind, so let’s get started.
What are the financial ratings of the largest car insurance companies in Minnesota?
The following table shows the loss ratio, the amount in premiums written, and the market share for 10 different insurance companies.
|Company||Direct Premiums Written||Loss Ratio||Market Share|
|Allstate Insurance Group||$200,235||60.51%||5.56%|
|American Family Insurance||$418,487||62.97%||11.62%|
The following table shows the financial status report, long-term issuer credit rating, and outlooks for two Minnesota-based companies.
|Company||FSR||FSR Outlook / Implication||Long Term ICR||ICR Outlooks / Implication|
|Minnesota Lawyers Mutual Insurance Co.||A-||Stable||a-||Stable|
|Tri-State Insurance Company of Minnesota||A+||Stable||aa-||Stable|
For the uninitiated, FSR means financial status report. A.M. Best is the organization that issues the ICR, or issuer credit rating. The ICR is their opinion regarding the company’s ability to meet ongoing financial obligations.
Here is how their rating system breaks down:
- A++, A+ (Superior)
- A, A- (Excellent)
- B++, B+ (Good)
- B, B- (Fair
- C++, C+ (Marginal)
- C, C- (Weak)
- D (Poor)
- E (Under Regulatory Supervision)
- F (In Liquidation)
- S (Suspended)
Which car insurance companies have the best ratings in Minnesota?
The following table was created courtesy of information provided by a J.D. Power customer satisfaction survey.
|Company Name||Overall Customer Satisfaction|
(Based on a 1,000-Point Scale)
|Power Circle Rating|
|*North Central Average*||830||3|
|Automobile Club Group||801||2|
|Indiana Farm Bureau||854||5|
|Michigan Farm Bureau||839||4|
The average customer satisfaction index rating in the North Central region of the United States, where Minnesota is located, is 830.
As you can see, 11 companies beat this average: Auto-Owners Insurance, Cincinnati Insurance, Country Financial, Erie Insurance, Geico, The Hartford, Indiana Farm Bureau, Michigan Farm Bureau, State Farm, USAA, and Westfield.
Which car insurance companies have the most complaints in Minnesota?
The following table shows the five auto insurance companies in Minnesota with the highest complaint counts. This information was collected via the National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC) website.
|State||Number of 2019 Complaints (NAIC)|
|Auto-Owners Ins Co||8|
|Geico General Insurance||6|
|State Farm Mut Auto Ins Co||27|
As you can see, there is quite a disparity between number one and number two. In fact, State Farm, at number one, has over twice as many complaints as Liberty Mutual at number two.
What are the cheapest car insurance companies in Minnesota?
The average annual rate for car insurance in Minnesota is $4,513.50. Sounds pretty steep, right? Well, one provider elevates that average substantially. Let’s find out what the five cheapest and most reasonable providers are.
- State Farm Mutual Auto – $2,066.99
- USAA CIC – $2,861.60
- AMCO Insurance – $2,926.49
- Illinois Farmers Ins: – $3,137.45
- Geico General – $3,498.53
Those numbers certainly appear more financially manageable than the aforementioned average.
Just like any other state, Minnesota’s car insurance policies are subject to factors such as driving record and age, but these figures certainly show that there are reasonable options.
Does my commute affect my car insurance rate in Minnesota?
The following table shows the difference in insurance rates for eight companies that have rates affected by average commute and annual mileage.
12,000 Annual Mileage
6,000 Annual Mileage
Of note is the fact that of the eight companies listed, all but three are a more expensive rate with the higher commute and higher annual mileage policy.
The three that remain — Allstate, Farmers, and Nationwide — are the same amount for both policies.
Can coverage level change my car insurance rate with companies in Minnesota?
This table ranks the rates of companies with different coverage levels.
|Company||High Coverage||Medium Coverage||Low Coverage|
Of note is the fact that Liberty Mutual takes the top three spots, one for each level of coverage, and State Farm takes the bottom three spots, one for each level of coverage.
How does my credit history affect my car insurance rate with companies in Minnesota?
Having bad credit is a pain. It can make it difficult to get that perfect house, enticing credit card company perks, and affordable rates. So, how does it stack up in the car insurance game?
|Group||Poor Credit||Fair Credit||Good Credit|
To see which companies are more forgiving than others, we calculated percentages based on the understanding that consumers entered into an insurance plan with good credit, which has since been knocked down to poor credit.
- USAA – Premium goes up 135 percent if your credit score takes a hit.
- State Farm – Premium goes up 124 percent if your credit score takes a hit.
- Allstate – Premium goes up 98.8 percent if your credit score takes a hit.
- Liberty Mutual – Premium goes up 97.8 percent if your credit score takes a hit.
- American Family – Premium goes up 87.5 percent if your credit score takes a hit.
- Farmers – Premium goes up 47.5 percent if your credit score takes a hit.
- Geico – Premium goes up 46.8 percent if your credit score takes a hit.
- Nationwide – Premium goes up 39.8 percent if your credit score takes a hit.
How does my driving record change my rates with car insurance companies in Minnesota?
What follows is a table comparing the rates of seven different companies for a clean record, a record with one accident, a record with a speeding violation, and a record with one DUI.
|Company||Clean Record||With One Speeding Violation||With Oe Accident||With One DUI|
Every company besides State Farm goes from least expensive as a clean record to one speeding violation, one accident, and one DUI as the most expensive.
State Farm has an identical pricing system for a DUI and a speeding ticket, with having an accident on one’s record yielding the greatest rate increase.
With this general trend in mind, let’s compare the percentage rate disparity between having a clean record and having a DUI on record.
- Geico – Premium goes up 137 percent if an individual has a DUI on their record.
- American Family – Premium goes up 117 percent if an individual has a DUI on their record.
- USAA – Premium goes up 92 percent if an individual has a DUI on their record.
- State Farm – Premium goes up 87.6 percent if an individual has a DUI on their record.
- Allstate – Premium goes up 74.2 percent if an individual has a DUI on their record.
- Nationwide – Premium goes up 52.7 percent if an individual has a DUI on their record.
- Farmers – Premium goes up 27.6 percent if an individual has a DUI on their record.
Which car insurance companies are the largest in Minnesota?
The following table shows the 10 largest car insurance companies in Minnesota in terms of direct premiums and market share.
|Company||Direct Premiums Written||Market Share|
|American Family Insurance||$418,487||11.62%|
This table compiles information regarding private passenger auto policies. These policies cover personal vehicles as opposed to vehicles used for business
How many car insurance companies are available in Minnesota?
If you’re in the market for an insurance provider in Minnesota, rest easy, because there are plenty of options. With the national average for domestic providers being 106, Minnesota has even more options, with the total being 152.
We’re looking for car insurance, though, so we need to find the number of property/casualty domestic insurers. In Minnesota, this figure comes to 39.
With 39 different options, there is certainly no shortage in terms of choice.
We’ve covered domestic policies, so how about licensed foreign providers? Well, in this case, there are even more options, a whopping 816 to be exact.
Let’s get into what a licensed foreign provider is for a moment. This is an insurance provider in one state, say Minnesota, that writes policies for individuals in another state, say Virginia, for instance.
Essentially, just because you want a policy for Minnesota doesn’t mean you have to get the policy in Minnesota itself.
Free Car Insurance Comparison
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
We get it. We haven’t all passed the bar exam. The law is convoluted, and that’s not even taking in the multifaceted nature of individual state’s laws into account.
This is why we’re going to cover Minnesota’s auto-related laws step by step. Together, we’ll get to the point where you need not worry about being on the wrong side of the law when you did not even know you had done anything wrong.
- What are we going to talk about?
- How state laws for insurance are determined
- Windshield coverage
- High-risk insurance
- Low-cost insurance
- Automobile insurance fraud
- Statute of limitations
- Minnesota-specific laws
- Vehicle licensing laws
- REAL ID
- Penalties for driving without insurance
- Teen driver laws
- Older driver’s license renewal procedures
- New residents
- License renewal procedures
As you can see, be you a visitor or new resident, we’ll cover all of the information one could hope to know.
What are the car insurance laws in Minnesota?
In this section, we’re going to go through the rule of law in place in Minnesota.
Without delving too far into specifics, we’ll cover what’s required by the state, how they come to such stipulations, risks, and even some oddball Minnesota-exclusive laws.
How State Laws for Insurance Are Determined
“Self-insurance” is an alternative to insurance as long as the applicant provides “sufficient evidence to satisfy requirements“. Self-Insurance is subject to the commissioner’s approval.
In Minnesota, insurance companies have the option of filing auto forms, rules and rates without further review. For this to be done, though, the insurance companies must obtain a certification of compliance.
According to the DMV, individuals who have a car primarily used in Minnesota require no-fault insurance, liability insurance, and uninsured motorist insurance.
This state’s laws are written to make sure individuals are financially covered in the case of a car accident, no matter who is at fault for the accident.
Many states require nothing specific of insurance companies regarding windshields and windshield protection.
In Minnesota, all insurance companies must offer optional full glass replacement coverage.
No matter what damage your windshield incurs, if you have this coverage, you don’t pay a dime. This covers not just repairs but replacements as well.
What if you trust a certain repair shop? You can choose your preferred repair shop, but there is a chance you would have to pay the difference.
When a claim is reported, the insurer must state the following: “You have the legal right to choose a repair shop to fix your vehicle. Your policy will cover the reasonable costs of repairing your vehicle to its pre-accident condition no matter where you have repairs made…your policy will cover the reasonable costs of repairing your vehicle to its pre-accident condition no matter where you have repairs made…”
In the case where a replacement is required over a repair, the chosen insurer is allowed to choose aftermarket parts for windshields.
Used OEM parts may be used for all other repairs. OEM parts, or original equipment manufacturer, are made by the manufacturer and not a third party.
The following news report video shows an example of windshield damage.
Situations like this show why it is best to replace one’s windshield quickly if damaged.
If someone makes a mistake and drives drunk, then gets caught making that mistake, of course, they’ll get a DUI. To restore their driving privileges, their insurance carrier must file what is called an SR-22 with the state Department of Motor Vehicles.
At this point, Minnesota does not have an insurance requirement regarding the SR-22.
With that being said, if a Minnesota resident with a DWI/DUI is going to move to another state, one that requires SR-22 insurance, it will need to be obtained.
An individual with a DWI is just one example of a high-risk driver, though. It’s difficult, but not impossible, to get insurance coverage as a high-risk driver.
If a person is denied coverage due to being a high-risk driver, they are required to search on the open market for 60 days. If, after 60 days, a plan has not been chosen, they can opt to qualify for the Minnesota Automobile Insurance Plan (MAIP).
However, while the coverage would be comparable to what is on the open market, the premium rates will most likely be much higher.
Low-Cost Insurance in Minnesota
While Minnesota has an established program for high-risk drivers, it does not have one to assist low-income drivers.
California, Hawaii, and New Jersey are the only three states with government-funded programs in place to help low-income families pay for their car insurance.
Low-income drivers or families don’t have specialized plans in place for them in the majority of the states in this country.
As of early 2020, only California, Hawaii, and New Jersey are the only three states with government-funded programs in place to help low-income families pay for their car insurance.
Automobile Insurance Fraud in Minnesota
According to the Insurance Information Institute, 15 to 17 percent of total claims payments in 2012 were fraudulent. This accounted for somewhere between $5.6 billion and $7.7 billion added to paid claims for supposed bodily injury from a car accident.
Insurance fraud is classified as a crime in all states, including Minnesota. This specificity makes it easier to prosecute. There are immunity statutes in place to protect those who report insurance fraud.
- For up to $500, the penalty is up to 90 days in jail or a fine up to $1,000.
- For $500 to $1,000, the penalty is up to one year in jail and a $3,000 fine.
- For $1,000 to $5,000, the penalty is up to five years in jail and a fine up to $10,000.
- For $5,000 to $35,000, the penalty is up to 10 years in jail and a fine up to $20,000.
- For any amount greater than $35,000, the penalty is no more than 20 years in prison and up to a $100,000 fine.
Not only does Minnesota have a bureau specifically in place to investigate insurance fraud, but it’s also state-required that insurers have a fraud plan in place.
The following video covers the importance of fraud reporting.
The following table contains data regarding automobile insurance fraud cases in Minnesota throughout a five-year period.
This information was compiled via the Minnesota Department of Commerce’s annual report.
|Year||Number of Automobile Insurance Fraud Cases|
Minnesota Department of Commerce
- Website – https://mn.gov/commerce/industries/insurance/
- Local number – (651) 539-1500
- Complaints – (651) 539-1600
- Email – email@example.com
Statute of Limitations
The statute of limitations is the time in which a claimant has to file and resolve their claim OR file a lawsuit to preserve the statute. Here are the statutes of limitations for car accidents:
- Personal injury – Capped at two years
- Property damage – Capped at six years “for taking, detaining, or injuring personal property, including actions for the specific recovery thereof.”
The Minnesota Automobile Insurance Plan (MNAIP) exists for high-risk drivers who are denied insurance via the usual channels on the standard market. A high-risk driver can apply through any car insurance agent.
Any company that denies a high-risk driver standard car insurance coverage MUST offer coverage via MNAIP.
What’s the catch?
MNAIP car insurance is much more expensive than standard car insurance. The DMV recommends continuing the shopping process for cheaper car insurance while in MNAIP.
What are the vehicle licensing laws in Minnesota?
One of the major shifts in DMV requirements is the upcoming transition to the REAL ID.
With the exception of three states, all states are compliant with the REAL ID Act, Minnesota included. Essentially, the REAL ID Act is an initiative between the states and the federal government to strengthen national security.
These IDs, which will be required as of October 1, 2020, will serve the purpose of inhibiting terrorism.
Following is further explanation courtesy of the Virginia DMV:
This explanatory video on REAL ID comes from the Transportation Security Administration:
As you can see, one of the primary focuses of the DMV nationwide is a conversion to the Real ID.
Penalties for Driving Without Insurance
You’re driving at night. It’s a relatively densely populated area, and you come to one of those irritating round-a-bouts. In the daytime, it’s not exactly clear who does what. At night, it’s even more difficult.
Well, the guy coming from the opposite direction doesn’t know either and slams into you. Making matters worse, they speed off. The situation could not really be worse — or could it?
You have insurance, but the other driver most likely did not. For a first-time offense, there is a fine of $200 to $1,000 (or community service) and/or imprisonment for up to 90 days for the driver without insurance. Also, their license and registration would be revoked for no more than one year.
It costs $30 to reinstate your driver’s license after an insurance violation. This is to be paid to DVS, Minnesota’s Department of Vehicle Services.
To ensure the reinstatement of their registration, the operator must file a written certificate of an insurance carrier authorized to do business in Minnesota with the Commissioner of Public Safety.
First and foremost, if you’re driving in Minnesota you must keep proof of insurance in your vehicle at all times. Failure to do so may just get you cited for a misdemeanor, so keep it in your glove box, nice and safe.
If you forget, but you have a current car insurance policy, you may be able to get the charges reversed by providing the court with one of the following proof of insurance forms before the deadline listed on the citation.
- Your car insurance ID card
- Copy of your insurance policy
- A letter from your insurance carrier
Do you not have proof of insurance and are you in need of it? Please feel free to enter your ZIP code, or the ZIP code you’re moving to, in this box below to find which insurance provider would best fit your needs.
Teen Driver Laws
The following information on graduated licensing laws was compiled from the Insurance Institute for Highway Safety.
The minimum age at which an individual can apply for a learner’s permit is 15. The state requires permit applicants under the age of 18 to be enrolled in driver education.
There is an optional 90-minute supplemental curriculum course for parents that involves graduated licensing, safety risks of teen driving, and the adults’ potential influence on teen driving behavior.
Permit Holding Period – Learner Stage
An individual under the age of 18 must hold a learner’s permit for six months prior to taking a driver’s skills test. This six-month period also applies to license applicants 18 and older unless they have completed driver education.
Supervised Driving – Learner Stage
Applicants under the age of 18 must be supervised while driving for 40 hours total, 15 of which must take place at night. These applicants must also provide proof either that a parent has taken the 90-minute optional course or the applicant themself has performed an additional 10 certified practice hours.
All 40 hours of supervised driving for the provisional license holder must be crash-free.
If the time is between midnight and five a.m., the teen driving the vehicle must be supervised within the first six months, or until the age of 18.
There is a restriction on passengers for teen drivers in Minnesota. With the exception of family members, there may be no more than one passenger under the age of 20 within the first six months.
For the second six months, there may be no more than three passengers younger than 20.
Older Driver License Renewal Procedures
In Minnesota, the license renewal cycle ends after four years, no matter what age the driver is.
At this renewal, the driver must provide proof of adequate vision. Mail or online renewal is not permitted.
If you’re new to and planning to live in Minnesota, there are a couple of caveats to driving right away.
- If you have a valid driver’s license from another state, you must pass a knowledge test regarding Minnesota’s driving laws.
- If your license has been expired for more than one year, you must pass a driving skills test.
- If you move to Minnesota from a country other than American Samoa, Virgin Islands, Guam, Marshall Islands, Micronesia, Northern Mariana or Canada, you must pass the knowledge test as well as the skills test.
You may be asking yourself what exactly you’ll need to obtain a license in Minnesota. You will need to do the following:
- Complete a Minnesota driver’s license application
- Provide your Social Security number
- Present a primary form of identification as well as one secondary form of identification.
- Present your driver’s license from your previous residential state.
- Provide proof of passing the testing requirements.
- Pass a vision screening and have your photo taken for the license.
- Pay Class D fees
- Class D instruction permit – $15.50
- Class D regular or under age 21 – $32
- Class D provisional license upgrade to under age 21 driver’s license — provided there are no violations on record — $28.50 (included is a $3.50 credit)
License Renewal Procedures
For those under the age of 21, their license expiration date is their 21st birthday. For those over the age of 21, their license expiration date is their birthday in the fourth year following the date of issuance of said license.
If the necessary steps are taken to renew the license on or before the expiration date, the driver’s privileges will continue without any interruption.
Negligent Operator Treatment System (NOTS)
In Minnesota, if a driver is habitually reckless or negligent, the commissioner may suspend the license of the driver. This can be done without a hearing provided they are shown department records or other sufficient evidence of negligence.
While the state does not have a point system in place, it does keep a record of an individual’s moving violations. Once these moving violations are accrued on the individual’s record, that is when a judgment will be made in regards to license suspension.
What are the rules of the road in Minnesota?
It goes without saying that Minnesota is like every other state in that there are traffic laws in place to be adhered to rigidly. With that being said, it is in the comparative minority when it comes to one law in particular. It is one of only twelve states that have no-fault auto insurance laws.
Fault Versus No-Fault
Minnesota is currently listed among the no-fault states, according to the NAIC.
In a no-fault state, every driver must file a claim with their own insurance company after an accident, no matter who is at fault.
In these states, all drivers must purchase personal injury protection in addition to their standard coverage.
A motorist may sue for severe injuries and pain and suffering only if they meet a certain threshold. This threshold, or severity of the sustained injury, may be expressed in verbal form or in terms of dollar amounts of incurred medical bills.
The purpose is to lower the cost of auto insurance by removing small claims cases from the courts. The consumer benefit is that each insurance company compensates its policyholders for minor injuries, no matter if they caused the accident or did not cause the accident.
Seat Belt & Car Seat Laws
Every state has seatbelt laws put in place for your safety. Take the extra time to buckle up.
Seat belts are required for the driver and passengers age 8 or older. Violations of the seat belt laws are standard offenses.
According to IIHS, the maximum base fine for a first-time offender is $25. However, additional fees may apply.
This law applies to those seven and younger who are more than 57 inches, or four feet nine inches, in all seats as well as all individuals aged eight and over in all seats.
The following video comes from the Minnesota State Police and is meant to inform one on how to properly wear a seatbelt.
But, wait, before we worry about the adults’ safety precautions, what about the child seat?
- If the child is seven years or younger and/or less than 57 inches, they must be in a car seat. Having just an adult belt strapped over them is not permissible, according to Minnesota state law.
- The maximum base fine for non-adherence is $50.
- Minnesota law does not state a preference for the car seat to be in the rear of the vehicle.
Perhaps you’ve been driving down a dirt road before; it’s bumpy, and you come up to or are passed by a pickup truck with passengers in the bed. It’s nerve-wracking. You wonder, “How can that be legal?” Well, in many states there are laws against it. Minnesota isn’t one of them.
There is no state law against carrying passengers in cargo areas, according to the IIHS.
Keep Right & Move Over Laws
Let’s start with the basics. You’re driving down the highway, and the situation is normal. There are no collisions, there are no emergency responders up ahead, and all is well. In which lane should you drive?
In Minnesota, you should drive in the right lane if you’re traveling slower than the average speed of others around you.
What about passing on the right? You can do so if:
- The vehicle you’re passing is about to make a left turn.
- You’re on a street or highway with unobstructed pavement unoccupied by parked vehicles. The street or highway should be of sufficient width for two lanes in each direction.
- You’re on a one-way street or a roadway on which traffic is restricted to one direction of movement as long as the roadway is free from obstructions as well as of sufficient width for two or more lanes.
- You should never pass in a bicycle lane or onto the shoulder, no matter the condition.
You’re driving down the interstate in the far-right lane and you see a police officer has just pulled someone over. They’re out of their vehicle and walking towards the vehicle.
Get out of the far-left lane safely to avoid endangering the officer. This principle applies whether the officer is in or out of their vehicle.
According to AAA, in Minnesota, it also applies to any stationary emergency vehicle using flashing lights — towing and recovery vehicles, utility vehicles, road maintenance, and construction vehicles.
The following video explains the importance of the Move Over Laws to the viewer.
It is important to heed the words of this video in order to protect the lives of those who keep our communities safe.
It’s best to be prepared. No one needs the headache of a speeding ticket to ruin their day while on vacation.
|Road Type||Speed Limit|
|Rural interstates||70 mph|
|Urban interstates||65 mph|
|Other limited access roads||65 mph|
|Other roads||60 mph|
There are several agencies that insure ridesharing services. In Minnesota, specifically, there are three options for ridesharing insurance: Allstate, Farmers, and Geico.
You may be asking, “Are my favorite ridesharing services readily available?” They are, in certain locations. Uber is available in Fergus Falls, Minneapolis, Moorhead, and St. Paul.
Lyft is available in Minneapolis and St. Paul. The fact that both ridesharing services are available in the twin cities should prove unsurprising, as they are the most congested locations in Minnesota.
Automation on the Road
We’re living in a time when technology is booming, and the auto industry is a big part of that. A Tesla may not be able to fully drive itself, but it does have an autopilot feature.
Automated vehicles use this technology, and many cameras beneath the vehicle’s body, to be on the lookout for impending obstructions and potential accidents. Human input is minimized to the point where the vehicle practically needs no human interaction at all.
Considering this technology is relatively new, Minnesota is only in the discussion stage of automated vehicles’ efficacy. As of now, there is no specific automated vehicle legislation.
The following video is a news report showing the testing process for driverless busses.
While Minnesota is exploring the option for driverless vehicles, they have yet to fully reach a decision on their efficacy.
What are the safety laws in Minnesota?
Minnesota has several laws in place to keep not just you safe but to ensure the safety of other drivers and passengers on the road. Perhaps some of the most important are the DWI laws.
Don’t drink and drive. In Minnesota, like most of the rest of the United States, the blood alcohol content limit for getting behind the wheel is .08.
A high BAC limit is an extreme amount of alcohol in the bloodstream that incurs higher penalties. In Minnesota, this comes to a BAC of .16. The title of the offense in Minnesota is driving while impaired, or DWI.
What happens if someone ignores the law, acts irresponsibly, and gets caught doing so? The offense will stay on their record for 10 years. This is called a look-back period. Within these 10 years, the offense would be taken into account during sentencing for further offenses.
Speaking of DWI, what are the degrees associated with the offense?
- Fourth-degree offense – No aggravating factors; a misdemeanor
- Third-degree offense – One aggravating factor; gross misdemeanor
- Second-degree offense – Two aggravating factors; gross misdemeanor
- First-degree offense – Three or more aggravating factors; felony
Examples of aggravating factors:
- Any prior drunken driving offense (hence the look-back period)
- Driving with BAC of more than .19
- Driving with a passenger under the age of 16 years old if the passenger is more than three years younger than the driver
Here are the penalties associated with DWI offenses.
|Penalty||First DWI||Second DWI||Third DWI||Fourth DWI|
|ALS/Revocation||Revoked for 90 days (180 days if driver is under 21)||Second within 10-year "look-back" period – Revoked 1 year||Third offense on record: – revoked one year; third within "look-back" period, DL cancelled and denied for three years||Fourth on record – license cancelled and revoked for three years |
Fourth in "look-back" period – cancelled and revoked for four years
|Imprisonment||No minimum, maximum of 90 days||Mandatory 30 days incarceration; 48 hours must be served in jail/workhouse|
Up to one year incarceration
|90 days incarceration At least 30 days served consecutively in jail/workhouse||If fourth conviction in 10-year period, 90 days minimum and up to 7 years; at least 30 days to be served consecutively in local jail/workhouse|
|Fine||$1,000||$3,000||$3,000 minimum||If fourth conviction within 10-year period – $14,000|
|Other||N/A||N/A||Unless maximum bail imposed, offender may receive pretrial release from detention if agree to no alcohol as well as submission to electronic alcohol monitoring (REAM) with at least daily breath-alcohol test||If fourth conviction in 10-year period – impoundment of registration plates, weekly meetings with probation officer and random substance testing |
The offender must pay the court for these mandatory services
As you can see, the penalties are severe even for first-time offenders.
Marijuana-Impaired Driving Laws
Marijuana is illegal in Minnesota. As recently as 2019, there have been measures struck down in the Senate toward decriminalization and legalization.
With that said, there are no marijuana-specific drugged-driving laws.
Distracted Driving Laws
According to the NAIC, a novice driver is a person under the age of 18 that has a learner’s permit or provisional license. With any state, drivers need to be mindful of the fact that certain cities and counties may have stricter laws.
It would stand to reason that most novice drivers are under the age of 18.
In Minnesota, permit holders and provisional license holders under the age of 18 are prohibited from using a cell phone while driving throughout their first 12 months after licensing.
There are other individuals subject to a personal cell phone ban. For instance, school bus drivers are forbidden from ever using their mobile devices while driving.
How about those over the age of 18? Talking on a mobile device is allowed.
With that being said, texting while driving is always forbidden, no matter the age of the individual. This also applies to the use of any handheld wireless device while driving.
Driving in Minnesota
No matter who you are, safety is the most important thing. If you’re in a car either alone or with loved ones, safety is your key priority. So, now, we’re going to go through some of the ugly truths whose impact could be lessened with proper coverage and precaution.
Together we’ll delve into theft, dangerous roadways, fatalities and what can cause them and even average emergency medical response times in Minnesota.
It’s not meant to be a scare tactic, but an illustration of why forethought is important when visiting, or moving to, a new state.
If this applies to you, please feel free to enter your ZIP code and find which insurance provider would best fulfill your needs.
How many vehicle thefts occur in Minnesota?
The following shows the top 10 most stolen vehicles, by make and model, in 2015.
|Make/Model||Year of Vehicle||Thefts|
|Chevrolet Pickup (Full Size)||1999||329|
|Ford Pickup (Full Size)||2005||246|
Bad news for Honda owners: this is the most popularly stolen car.
|City||Number of Thefts in 2017|
When it comes to vehicle theft in Minnesota, it’s almost as if there are the Twin Cities and then there’s everything else. There are a couple of factors to take into account here before the alarm bells start ringing.
For one, the Twin Cities are called that for a reason: There is only the Mississippi River, about seven miles, separating the two downtown sectors. The population between the two cities is about 3.28 million out of Minnesota’s 5.64 million, according to the U.S. Census Bureau.
To put it into perspective, Minneapolis is 58.4 square miles, Saint Paul is 56.18 square miles, and Minnesota in total has 86,943 square miles.
Boiled down, over half of the population of the state resides within .0013 percent of the state. The rate of vehicle theft, or any other form of theft for that matter, is going to be significantly higher.
How many road fatalities occur in Minnesota?
The road can be a dangerous place, so it’s always for the best to be aware of potentially dangerous roadways.
Most Fatal Highway in Minnesota
During the summer months of 2015, 2016, and 2017, a study was conducted by ASecureLife to determine what were the most dangerous highways within that time frame.
The study was conducted between the months of May and September due to increased traffic rates. In Minnesota, the most fatal roadway was by far Route 169. Within the aforementioned summer months during the three years, the total number of fatalities was 27.
Fatal Crashes by Weather Condition & Light Condition
The following table shows the number of fatal crashes that took place in 2017 during different times of day with differing weather conditions.
|Weather Condition||Daylight||Dark, but Lighted||Dark||Dawn or Dusk||Other / Unknown|
One would think that drastic weather conditions would significantly increase the number of fatal automobile accidents. Yet that isn’t the case, as normal weather during the day contributed to over half of the total fatal crashes in 2017.
Following this, again, the weather was normal but it was dark out. One could look at the possibility that more people drive when the weather is clear, particularly in cities, as a heavily contributing factor.
Fatalities (All Crashes) by County
The following are the number of fatalities from 2014 to 2018 in the top five counties.
|County||Total Fatalities||Average Percentage of State Total Fatalities|
Throughout the five-year period, Hennepin County held the lead every year in fatalities by Minnesota counties. Worse yet, from 2015 to 2018, the number of fatalities increased year-by-year in Hennepin County.
The subsequent four counties on the list swapped places throughout the five years, though never reaching the number one spot, and held extremely comparable averages.
The following is a table showing all traffic-related fatalities from 2015–2018.
When the numbers for urban and rural don’t add up to the total, it’s because the fatality occurred in a location that has been unconfirmed to be either urban or rural.
Fatalities by Person Type
The following is a table showing fatalities by person type, as in what sort of vehicle they were driving at the time of the accident as well as the number of occupants in said vehicle. This information comes courtesy of the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration.
|Person Type||2014 Number||2014 Percent||2015 Number||2015 Percent||2016 Number||2016 Percent||2017 Number||2017 Percent||2018 Number||2018 Percent|
|Light Truck – Pickup||45||12||66||16||41||10||40||11||43||11|
|Light Truck – Utility||45||12||40||10||52||13||51||14||55||14|
|Light Truck – Van||26||7||14||3||13||3||21||6||17||4|
|Light Truck – Other||0||0||1||0||1||0||0||0||2||1|
|Bicyclist and Other Cyclist||5||1||10||2||7||2||6||2||7||2|
As you can see, passenger cars hold the top spot in the rankings for all five years.
Fatalities by Crash Type
This is a table showing fatalities in relation to crash type. For example, was there a rollover? Was it a single-vehicle crash? Was the crash at an intersection?
This information comes courtesy of the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration.
|Total Fatalities (All Crashes)*||361||411||392||358||381|
|Involving a Roadway Departure||205||216||199||182||200|
|Involving an Intersection (or Intersection Related)||97||124||128||127||123|
|Involving a Rollover||94||104||88||89||81|
|Involving a Large Truck||66||64||62||61||44|
As you can see, accidents involving a roadway departure accounted for the largest number of fatalities out of all categories each year.
Five-Year Trend for the Top 10 Counties
The following shows the trend in fatalities from 2014 to 2018.
|2018 Ranking||County||2014 Fatalities||2015 Fatalities||2016 Fatalities||2017 Fatalities||2018 Fatalities||Percent of Total|
|Sub Total 1||Top Ten Counties||139||154||181||158||195||39||37||46||44||51|
|Sub Total 2||All Other Counties||222||257||211||200||186||61||63||54||56||49|
As you can see, Hennepin County held the highest percentage point for each of the five years.
Fatalities Involving Speeding by County
What follows is a comprehensive table showing fatalities specifically caused or in part due to speeding. This information comes courtesy of the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration.
|County||2014 Fatalities||2015 Fatalities||2016 Fatalities||2017 Fatalities||2018 Fatalities||2014 Fatalities per 100,000 Population||2015 Fatalities per 100,000 Population||2016 Fatalities per 100,000 Population||2017 Fatalities per 100,000 Population||2018 Fatalities per 100,000 Population|
|Lac Qui Parle||1||0||0||0||0||14.49||0||0||0||0|
|Lake of the Woods||0||0||0||0||0||0||0||0||0||0|
Hennepin County accounted for the largest number of speeding-related fatalities every year.
Fatalities in Crashes Involving an Alcohol-Impaired Driver by County
The following shows fatalities involving an alcohol-impaired driver in 88 Minnesota counties.
|County||2014 Fatalities||2015 Fatalities||2016 Fatalities||2017 Fatalities||2018 Fatalities||2014 Fatalities per 100,000 Population||2015 Fatalities per 100,000 Population||2016 Fatalities per 100,000 Population||2017 Fatalities per 100,000 Population||2018 Fatalities per 100,000 Population|
|Lac Qui Parle||1||1||0||0||0||14.49||14.55||0||0||0|
|Lake of the Woods||0||0||1||0||0||0||0||26.39||0||0|
As you can see, Hennepin County again holds the highest number in each of the five years.
Teen Drinking & Driving
The following figures were pulled from the FBI’s database in reference to drunk driving arrests in the year 2016. Here, a teen would be defined as under the age of 18.
In 2016, the number of DWI arrests of individuals under the age of 18 was 144 in total. This placed Minnesota at rank position number 17 on a countrywide scale. The total number of 2016 DWI arrests in Minnesota was 19,340.
ost 2016 DWI arrests were of those 18 and older — 19,196 to be exact. Counting just adult DWI arrests, Minnesota’s rank would move up to 15.
More stats, courtesy of the FBI database:
In terms of total 2016 arrests in Minnesota, DWI arrests accounted for 13.04 percent. In terms of a countrywide ranking for DWI arrests as a percentage of total arrests, this placed Minnesota at rank eight.
As a percentage of the total Minnesota population in 2016, DWI arrests accounted for .35 percent, putting it at a countrywide ranking of 14.
The most jarring Minnesota statistic would be its ranking in regards to DWI arrests in relation to all arrests, given that it is in the top 10.
It should come as an even bigger surprise, then, that Minnesota is on the far low end of minor alcohol-impaired fatalities, according to responsibility.org.
The national average of under 21 alcohol-impaired fatalities per 100,000 population is 1.2. Compare this to the Minnesota average of 0.3. The state is tied with New Jersey; only the District of Columbia is lower at zero.
EMS Response Time
If the worst happens, alcohol-related or not, and you get in a car crash, it would serve you well to know how long you might be waiting for first responders.
The following information was compiled courtesy of the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration and their database regarding EMS arrival times in 2017, their most recent year of collected data.
- Average time from crash to hospital: 51.68 minutes
- Total fatal crashes: 199
- Average time from crash to hospital: 35.38 minutes
- Total fatal crashes: 140
In terms of rural versus urban, EMS response time is decreased in urban areas despite the denser population. The distance EMS has to travel for accidents in rural areas could prove to be a substantial factor as to why there is an increase in the number of fatal accidents.
What is transportation like in Minnesota?
Finally, we’re going to cover what one should expect when driving in Minnesota. Will it be like a breezy country hillside or like Los Angeles gridlock? Let’s start with how many cars you should expect to see on the road.
The average amount of cars per household in Minnesota was two in 2018. In fact, comparatively speaking, the majority of households have two cars, at 43.6 percent.
So, how about the other 56.4 percent of Minnesota households?
- Three cars – 22.6 percent
- One car – 20.2 percent
- Four cars – 9.53 percent
- Five or more cars – 4.68 percent
- No cars – 2.67 percent
It certainly seems like just about every household in Minnesota has at least one vehicle. This makes sense, as only 4.26 percent of the country’s households did not have a vehicle in 2018.
The majority of Minnesota residents who commute drive alone. The average duration for Minnesota residents’ commute is 22.3 minutes. This figure is lower than the national average, which stands at 25.7 minutes.
Of the commuters, 1.74 percent have what is known as a super commute, which exceeds a 90-minute duration.
In 2018, the vast majority of commuters in Minnesota drove alone, at a whopping 77.7 percent. You have to decrease that number all the way down to 8.4 percent to find those who carpooled. And, now, the remainder:
- Public transit – 3.55 percent
- Walked – 2.76 percent
- Bicycle – .639 percent
- Other – .624 percent
- Motorcycle – .138 percent
- Taxi – .124 percent
Interestingly enough, all of these figures have remained stagnant from 2013 to 2018. This includes those who don’t commute, i.e. those who work at home, which reached 6.08 percent in 2018.
Traffic Congestion in Minnesota
The focus of this information is on Minneapolis over the state of Minnesota as a whole, due to the fact that Minneapolis has the densest population.
In 2017, Minneapolis ranked 132 out of 220. In 2018, it ranked 124 out of 220, a year-over-year change of 4 percent.
The average amount of hours lost in congestion per resident was 70. The financial cost of this congestion per driver was an average of $971 per year.
Peak speed is the average speed during the most congested period of the morning and afternoon commute. The average peak speed in 2017 was 31.69 miles per hour.
Off-peak speed is the average speed between the two most congested periods, the morning and afternoon commutes. The average off-peak speed in 2017 was 47.33 miles per hour.
Free flow is the fastest average over the course of a 24-hour period. The average free-flow speed in 2017 was 49.87 miles per hour.
The congestion level stood at 17 percent, which was up one percent from 2018. In terms of extra travel time, there were nine minutes per 30-minute trip in the mornings.
In the evenings, there were 13 extra minutes per 30-minute trip. This accounts for 85 hours, or three days and 13 hours, annually.
What were the most congested times on the roadways?
In the morning, 7 a.m. had a 32 percent congestion rate Mondays through Fridays. In the evenings, 5 p.m. had a 43 percent congestion rate Mondays through Fridays.
Highways held a 14 percent congestion level while non-highways held a 19 percent congestion level.
From Tomtom, we learn that in 2018, the day with the least amount of traffic was December 25. The day with the most traffic in 2018 was January 22. On average, the best time to avoid the roads in 2018 was on Thursdays from 5 p.m. to 6 p.m.
Below is information on Minneapolis:
- Traffic index – 150.05
- Time index – 33.38
- Inefficiency Index – 200.76
Traffic index is a composite index of time consumed in traffic due to job commute, estimation of time consumption dissatisfaction, carbon dioxide consumption estimation in traffic and overall inefficiencies in the traffic system.
Minneapolis is ranked 27th out of 57 cities indexed.
Time index is the average amount of time needed in terms of one-way travel, i.e. job commute. Minneapolis is ranked 26th out of 57 cities indexed.
High inefficiencies are usually caused by the fact that people drive a car as opposed to using public transportation. Minneapolis is ranked 34th out of 57 cities indexed.
The above information was courtesy of Numbeo.
We hope we’ve been able to provide some clarification on what you should be looking for. There are so many factors to keep in mind that it can become overwhelming.
So, not unlike traveling, this hopefully got you from point A to point B without too much confusion. When all is said and done it’s just important to ensure your safety and the safety or your family or loved ones.
Find a price that looks right and a plan that covers your needs. Type in your ZIP code to find out which insurance company you would like to deal with.